Hear a previously unreleased Townes Van Zandt song, “All I Need”

From a new album of lost 1973 recordings called Sky Blue

Trending Now

TVZ Records and Fat Possum have announced an album of unreleased Townes Van Zandt recordings.

Sky Blue will be released on March 17, on what would have been Van Zandt’s 75th birthday.

Order the latest issue of Uncut online and have it sent to your home!


Recorded in early 1973 at Bill Hedgepeth’s home studio in Atlanta, Sky Blue includes raw versions of well-known songs “Pancho & Lefty” and “Rex’s Blues” as well as two that have never been heard before. Hear one of those, “All I Need”, below:

Check out the full tracklisting for Sky Blue below and pre-order the album here.

1. All I Need
2. Rex’s Blues
3. Hills of Roane County
4. Sky Blue
5. Forever For Always For Certain
6. Blue Ridge Mountain Blues (Smoky Version)
7. Pancho and Lefty
8. Snake Song
9. Silver Ships of Andilar
10. Dream Spider
11. The Last Thing On My Mind


The March 2019 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with New Order on the cover. Inside, you’ll find Pete Shelley (RIP), our massive 2019 albums preview, Sharon Van Etten, Mark Knopfler, Paul Simonon, John Martyn, Steve Gunn and much more. Our 15-track CD also showcases the best of the month’s new music, including Bruce Springsteen, William Tyler and the Dream Syndicate.


Latest Issue