Wilko Johnson announces new album, Blow Your Mind

It's his first collection of new material in 30 years

Trending Now

Richard Thompson on the flowering of Fairport Convention

"There was a musical explosion – you could play almost anything and be accepted"

My Bloody Valentine: “We were like the Partridge Family on acid”

With the news that My Bloody Valentine have released their catalogue across streaming services for the first time, it...

Alan Horne on the resurrection of Postcard Records

"There’s no conceivable excuse to be whoring yourself off to any crooked corporate malarkey"

Introducing the Deluxe Ultimate Music Guide to Neil Young

Updated with a deep dive into Archives II and more

Wilko Johnson’s new album Blow Your Mind will be released by Chess Records on June 15. The collection of new, self-penned material follows 2013’s collaboration with Roger Daltrey, Going Back Home, which reached No. 3 in the UK charts.

Johnson describes Blow Your Mind as “the album I never thought I’d get to write”. The former Dr Feelgood guitarist was diagnosed with terminal pancreatic cancer in 2012 but has now beaten the disease.

“I didn’t know if I’d ever get back into the studio,” adds Johnson. “One of those songs, that’s a reflection of that time, about sitting around the house at night knowing that death’s coming; we’ve recorded it, and it’ll be on the album. It’s actually quite a cheerful one, too!”


The album features Norman Watt Roy on bass and Dylan Howe on drums, and is produced by Dave Eringa. The full tracklisting for Blow Your Mind is as follows:

01. Beauty
02. Blow Your Mind
03. Marijuana
04. Tell Me One More Thing
05. That’s The Way I Love You
06. Low Down
07. Take It Easy
08. I Love The Way You Do
09. It Don’t Have To Give You The Blues
10. Lament
11. Say Goodbye
12. Slamming

The May 2018 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with Johnny Marr on the cover. Elsewhere in the issue, you’ll find exclusive new interviews with John Fogerty, Dan Auerbach, Shirley Collins, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, John Prine and many more. Our free 15-track CD features 15 tracks of this month’s best new music, featuring Kacy & Clayton, Laura Veirs, Wye Oak, Cath & Phil Taylor, Mouse On Mars, Josh T. Pearson, A Place To Bury Strangers and Drinks.


Latest Issue

The Velvet Underground, The Black Crowes, Bunny Wailer, Richard Thompson, Nick Cave, Rhiannon Giddens, Laurie Anderson, Blake Mills, Postcard Records, Mogwai and The Selecter