Watch footage of Neil Young’s Arroyo Seco show

Festival set list included "Like An Inca", "Ohio" and "I Am A Child"

Trending Now

Richard Thompson on the flowering of Fairport Convention

"There was a musical explosion – you could play almost anything and be accepted"

My Bloody Valentine: “We were like the Partridge Family on acid”

With the news that My Bloody Valentine have released their catalogue across streaming services for the first time, it...

Alan Horne on the resurrection of Postcard Records

"There’s no conceivable excuse to be whoring yourself off to any crooked corporate malarkey"

Introducing the Deluxe Ultimate Music Guide to Neil Young

Updated with a deep dive into Archives II and more

This weekend (June 23) Neil Young headlined Pasadena’s Arroyo Seco festival with his regular backing band, Promise Of The Real.

Kicking off with a 20-minute version of “Like An Inca” from Trans, Young and his band appeared to be assembling their set-list on the fly.

Get Uncut delivered to your door – find out by clicking here!


At one point they started playing “Lotta Love” only to abandon it after a few seconds in favour of Buffalo Springfield’s “I Am A Child”, returning to “Lotta Love” afterwards.

The encore comprised CSNY’s “Ohio”, a 15-minute version of “Down By The River” and “Roll Another Number”.

“Funny how an unplanned set breathes like real rock and roll,” wrote Young later on Neil Young Archives. “We just play what we feel like playing, for as long as we feel like playing it, and it works for us.”

Watch some fan-filmed footage of the performance and peruse the full setlist below:

01. Lika An Inca
02. F*!#in’ Up
03. Cortez The Killer
04. Forget About Georgia (Lukas Nelson)
05. Everything Is Bullshit (Micah Nelson)
06. I Am A Child
07. Lotta Love
08. Rockin’ In The Free World
09. Hey Hey, My My (Into The Black)
10. Angry World
11. Powderfinger

12. Ohio
13. Down By The River
14. Roll Another Number


The August 2018 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with Prince on the cover. Elsewhere in the issue, you’ll find exclusive features on John Coltrane, Graham Nash, Cowboy Junkies, Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever, Hawkwind, Jennifer Warnes, Teenage Fanclub, David Sylvian, Wilko Johnson and many more. Our free CD showcases 15 tracks of this month’s best new music, including Israel Nash, Dirty Projectors, Luluc, Ty Segall and White Fence, Nathan Salsburg and Gwenifer Raymond.


Latest Issue

The Velvet Underground, The Black Crowes, Bunny Wailer, Richard Thompson, Nick Cave, Rhiannon Giddens, Laurie Anderson, Blake Mills, Postcard Records, Mogwai and The Selecter