Unreleased Big Star Songs On New Four Disc Box Set

Hear one of the rarities 'Lovely Day' FREE here now

Trending Now

A new four-disc Big Star collection is to feature a stack of previously unreleased tracks alongside key songs when it is released by Rhino on September 14.

The celebratory box set, entitled ‘Keep An Eye On The Sky’ spans the Memphis-group’s music from 1968 through to 1975 with a total of 98 tracks.

The unreleased material comprises unused demos, alternate takes and lyrics as well as live recordings. The four disc was recorded live in Memphis in 1973.


On the same day as the CD box set and digital release of Keep An Eye On The Sky, a deluxe edition of Chris Bell’s solo album I Am The Cosmos will also be released by Rhino Handmade..

A free stream of the unreleased song “Lovely Day” is available now here

Big Star’s Keep An Eye On The Sky full tracklisting and details are as follows:


Disc 1:

“Psychedelic Stuff” – Chris Bell

“All I See Is You” – Icewater

“Every Day As We Grow Closer” (Original Mix) – Alex Chilton

“Try Again” (Early Version) – Rock City

“The Preacher” – Rock City


“The Ballad Of El Goodo” – Alternate Mix*

“In The Street”

“Thirteen” – Alternate Mix*

“Don’t Lie To Me”

“The India Song”

“When My Baby’s Beside Me” – Alternate Mix*

“My Life Is Right” – Alternate Mix*

“Give Me Another Chance” – Alternate Mix*

“Try Again”

“Gone With The Light”* – Chris Bell

“Watch The Sunrise”

“ST 100/6” – Alternate Mix*

“In The Street” – Second Recorded Version

“Feel” – Early Mix*

“The Ballad Of El Goodo” (Alternate Lyrics)

“The India Song” – Alternate Version*

“Country Morn”

“I Got Kinda Lost” – Demo

“Motel Blues” – Demo*

Disc 2:

“There Was A Light” – Demo*

“Life Is White” – Demo*

“What’s Going Ahn” – Demo*

“O My Soul”

“Life Is White”

“Way Out West” – Alternate Mix*

“What’s Going Ahn”

“You Get What You Deserve” – Alternate Mix*

“Mod Lang” – Alternate Mix

“Back Of A Car” – Alternate Mix*

“Daisy Glaze”

“She’s A Mover”

“September Gurls”

“Morpha Too” – Alternate Mix*

“I’m In Love With A Girl”

“O My Soul” – Alternate Version*

“Back Of A Car” – Demo

“Daisy Glaze” – Alternate Take*

“She’s A Mover” – Alternate Version

“I Am The Cosmos” – Chris Bell

“You And Your Sister” – Chris Bell

“Blue Moon” – Demo – Alex Chilton*

“Femme Fatale” – Demo – Alex Chilton*

“Thank You Friends” – Demo – Alex Chilton*

“You Get What You Deserve” – Demo – Alex Chilton*

Disc 3:

“Lovely Day” (aka Stroke It Noel) – Demo – Alex Chilton

“Downs” – Demo – Alex Chilton

“Nightime” – Demo – Alex Chilton*

“Jesus Christ” – Demo – Alex Chilton*

“Holocaust” – Demo – Alex Chilton*

“Take Care” – Demo – Alex Chilton*

“Big Black Car” – Alternate Demo – Alex Chilton*


“Jesus Christ”

“Femme Fatale”

“O, Dana”

“Kizza Me”

“You Can’t Have Me”


“Dream Lover”

“Blue Moon”

“Take Care”

“Stroke It Noel”

“For You”


“Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On”

“Big Black Car”


“Kanga Roo”

“Thank You Friends”

“Till The End Of The Day”

“Lovely Day”*

“Nature Boy”


“When My Baby’s Beside Me”*

“My Life Is Right”*

“She’s A Mover”*

“Way Out West”*

“The Ballad Of El Goodo”*

“In The Street”*

“Back Of A Car”*


“The India Song”*

“Try Again”*

“Watch The Sunrise”*

“Don’t Lie To Me”*

“Hot Burrito #2″*

“I Got Kinda Lost”*

“Baby Strange”*


“There Was A Light”*

“ST 100/6″*

“Come On Now”*

“O My Soul”*

*Previously unreleased

For more music and film news click here

You can also now follow Uncut on Twitter! For news alerts, to find out what we’re playing on the stereo and more, join us here @uncutmagazine


Latest Issue