The Strokes announce new album details

New Yorkers give away songtitles

Trending Now

The Strokes have tentatively named their forthcoming fourth album ‘Angles’, which is expected to be released in the UK on March 21.

The record’s lead single is likely to be named ‘Under Cover Of Darkness’.

The band gave the album information to Rolling Stone magazine, also revealing further song titles ‘Taken For A Fool’, ‘Life Is Simple’, ‘Machu Picchu’, ‘Radio Minor Madness’ and ‘Call Me Back’.


Guitarist Albert Hammond Jr explained the album title by saying: “It’s what the record sounds like. It comes from five different people.”

‘Life Is Simple’ is the only song that survived from sessions the band recorded with producer Joe Chiccarelli before deciding to record in Hammond Jr‘s own studio, taking on production duties themselves.

Hammond Jr said that, after the album was out, he was hoping the band wouldn’t wait another five years before releasing their next effort. “We want to release albums quicker,” he explained.


The new record will be their first since 2006’s ‘First Impressions Of Earth’.

Guitarist Nick Valensi added: “I don’t want to make an album every five years. I love being in this band and I want it to be a career thing.”

Latest music and film news on

Uncut have teamed up with Sonic Editions to curate a number of limited-edition framed iconic rock photographs, featuring the likes of Pink Floyd, Bob Dylan and The Clash. View the full collection here.


Latest Issue