The Eagles Fly Again

West Coast veterans release first new LP since ’79

Trending Now

Tim Buckley’s Starsailor: “It was just so good in the studio”

Bandmates recount the making of his mercurial masterpiece

The 8th Uncut New Music Playlist Of 2020

It's Friday afternoon, so it's time for another of our rarer-than-intended rundowns of the finest new music that's appeared...

Michael Stipe: “I don’t have to please anyone but myself”

In Uncut's exclusive interview, he discusses new solo material and REM's legacy

Introducing the Ultimate Music Guide to Wilco

It’s been 25 years since the first Wilco album, the fiery AM, and it’s an anniversary we felt like...

Legendary Cali country-rockers The Eagles are to put out a new studio album, almost 30 years since 1979’s “The Long Run”. “It’s coming out in 60-90 days, if we don’t kill each other first,” explains founding member Don Henley to Billboard magazine.

He said “We want to get it out before the summer. We’ve had a few interruptions. We’ve had a few distractions. We’ve had several”.

The studio album has been in production since 2003 and Henley has explained why it’s been taking its time. he said: “Some days it feels good. Some days it’s challenging. It’s exhilarating. It’s worrisome. It’s joyous. It’s all of these things. It’s a big mixed emotions kind of thing. It always has been. It’s no different from what it ever is. It’s just that there are more
distractions now with families and charities and lawsuits”.

Since the end of their extended sabbatical, the band have regularly played live gigs together and have released two live albums.

The new studio LP is tentatively titled “The Long Road To Eden” and band members include Henley, Glenn Frey, Joe Walsh and Timothy B Schmit. Walsh joined the group on guitar in 1976 as Bernie Leadon’s replacement and Schmit took over bass duties following the departure of Randy Meisner in 1977.

The Eagles were inducted into The Rock’N’Roll Hall Of Fame in 1998.


Latest Issue

Peter Gabriel, Michael Stipe, The Flaming Lips, Tim Buckley, David Bowie, Archie Shepp, Jonathan Richman, Mary Chapin Carpenter and The Rolling Stones