Sonic Youth To Release New Album

Their 16th album The Eternal is released in June

Trending Now

Sonic Youth will release their 16th studio album on June 9 through Matador records.

Entitled ‘The Eternal’ and produced by John Agnello (Dinosaur Jr, The Hold Steady) at the band’s studio in New Jersey, the record marks the studio debut of Sonic Youth’s latest recruit, former Pavement bassist Mark Ibold.

“It has compact, melodic, high-energy, Detroit punk-rock songs on it,” frontman Thurston Moore told US magazine Blender. After nearly 20 years on Geffen, the band wanted to give independent label Matador their version of a classic rock and roll record. “I’ve been waiting, waiting for our contract to be up,” said Moore, “I want to make our most killer rock and roll album.”


The tracklisting for The Eternal will be:

1. Sacred Trickster

2. Anti-Orgasm


3. Leaky Lifeboat (For Gregory Corso)

4. Antenna

5. What We Know

6. Calming The Snake

7. Poison Arrow

8. Malibu Gas Station

9. Thunderclap For Bobby Pyn

10. No Way

11. Walkin Blue

12. Massage The History

Matador will shortly announce a Buy Early Get Now opportunity for the album with added bonus material.


Latest Issue