Robert Plant and Tinariwen record tracks for refugee benefit album

The Long Road is will be release in March 2016

Trending Now

Fleet Foxes – Shore

Robin Pecknold's tide-like ruminations on ageing, loss and uncertain times

PJ Harvey: “She’s an auteur… she knows what she wants”

The making of To Bring You My Love explored in the new issue of Uncut

The 10th Uncut New Music Playlist Of 2020

William Tyler, New Order, Todd Rundgren, Gwenifer Raymond and much more

Introducing the Ultimate Music Guide to the Grateful Dead

Meeting your heroes can be disappointing. As you’ll read in our new Ultimate Music Guide, when Melody Maker’s Steve...

Robert Plant has recorded a cover of Elbow‘s “The Blanket Of Night” for an album aimed at helping the refugee crisis in Europe.

Plant said: “We have a worldwide international catastrophe – talking about it is one thing, doing something about it is another.

“The position we are in, it’s paramount we all do our best one way or another to help.”


The project, created with the British Red Cross, is being produced by Ethan Johns.

Tinariwen have also contributed to the record, recording a new track, “Silence”.

The group’s founder, Ibrahim Ag Alhabib, was a refugee as a child and was forced to flee his home in Mali after his father was executed in the 1963 uprising.

Other artists who feature on the compilation album The Long Road include spoken word artist Scroobius Pip, Kindness and the Sierra Leone Refugee All Stars.

You can watch a trailer for the record below.


The record, released on March 4, 2016, is available to pre-order by clicking here.

The January 2016 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring Paul Weller, David Bowie, Best Of 2015, Roger Waters, Father John Misty, Pere Ubu, Robert Forster, Natalie Prass, James Brown, Bruce Springsteen, Sunn O))), Jonny Greenwood, Arthur Lee & Love, Neil Young, Janis Joplin and more.

Uncut: the spiritual home of great rock music.


Latest Issue

PJ Harvey, Tom Petty, Idles, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Matt Berninger, Steel Pulse, Hüsker Dü, Laura Veirs, Chris Hillman and Isaac Hayes