Radiophonic Workshop to release first new music since 1985

Vwoorp! Vwoorp!

Trending Now

The Radiophonic Workshop will release their first new album in 32 years this May.

The architects behind music and sound effects from such storied BBC shows as Doctor Who, Quatermass and The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy have announced details of Burials In Several Earths.

The album features guest appearances from The Human League’s Martyn Ware and Steve ‘Dub’ Jones, the engineer behind The Chemical Brothers, UNKLE, and New Order.


Founded by Desmond Briscoe and Daphne Oram in the late 1950s, the Workshop played a crucial role in the development of electronic music. The current line-up of the Radiophonic Workshop includes Dick Mills, one of the original staff at the Radiophonic Workshop, as well as later members Peter Howell, Roger Limb and Paddy Kingsland and long-time associate composer Mark Ayres.

The Radiophonic Workshop’s Burials In Several Earths will be released via their own Room 13 imprint (the space in which the Workshop first began) and will be available on CD and 4×10″ vinyl box set on May 19.

Burial in Several Earths
Things Buried in Water
Some Hope of Land
Not Come to Light
The Strangers’ House


The Radiophonic Workshop will play London’s Convergence Festival on March 22 and Cheshire’s Bluedot Festival, taking place from July 7-9.

The May 2017 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring our cover story on Buckingham Nicks. Elsewhere in the issue, there’s interviews with Elastica, Mac DeMarco, John Lydon and Mike Love. We take a trip to Morocco – North African destination of The Beatles, Stones, Hendrix and more – and look back at the life of Laura Nyro. Our free CD collects great new tracks from Father John Misty, Mark Lanegan Band, Fairport Convention, Thundercat and more. The issue also features Wire on their best recorded work. Plus Future Islands, Lemon Twigs, Sleaford Mods, Rod Stewart, Bob Dylan, Willie Nelson, T.Rex, Cosey Fanni Tutti and more, plus 131 reviews


Latest Issue