Radiohead, Pearl Jam, Beastie Boys pick songs on Sonic Youth collection

Former rarity 'Hits Are For Squares' will get a general release on October 31

Trending Now

Radiohead, Eddie Vedder of Pearl Jam and Mike D of Beastie Boys are among the musicians and celebrity fans to have picked songs for inclusion on a Sonic Youth ‘best of’ collection.

Entitled ‘Hits Are For Squares’, the album – which received a limited release on Starbucks Music in 2008 – will get a full release through Universal on October 31. The album features a host of actors, musicians, directors and artists who have chosen Sonic Youth songs for the album, including Beck, actress Portia De Rossi, screenwriter Diablo Cody, author Dave Eggers, actress Michelle Williams, director Gus Van Sant, actress Chloe Sevigny, and The Flaming Lips.

The documentary ‘1991: The Year Punk Broke’ will also be available on October 31 for the first time on DVD. Featuring Sonic Youth, Nirvana, the Ramones, Dinosaur Jr. and Babes In Toyland, the film contains live Sonic Youth footage as well as behind the scenes reportage. Scroll down to watch the trailer.


The DVD comes with 65 minutes of bonus material, including the previously unreleased film ‘(This Is Known As) The Blues Scale, which features a performance by Nirvana of In Bloom. The DVD also hosts Broken Punk, a 2003 panel discussion with Thurston Moore, Steve Shelley and Lee Ranaldo, Dinosaur Jr’s J. Mascis and the 1991: The Year Punk Broke filmmaker Dave Markey.

The Hits Are For Squares tracklisting is:

‘Bull In The Heather’ (selected by Catherine Keener)


‘100%’ (selected by Mike D)

‘Sugar Kane’ (selected by Beck)

‘Kool Thing’ (selected by Radiohead)

‘Disappearer’ (selected by Portia de Rossi)

‘Superstar’ (selected by Diablo Cody)

‘Stones’ (selected by Allison Anders)

‘Tuff Gnarl’ (selected by Dave Eggers and Mike Watt)

‘Teenage Riot’ (selected by Eddie Vedder)

‘Shadow Of A Doubt’ (selected by Michelle Williams)

‘Rain On Tin’ (selected by Flea)

‘Tom Violence (selected by Gus Van Sant)

‘Mary-Christ’ (selected by David Cross)

‘The World Looks Red’ (selected by Chloe Sevigny)

‘Expressway To Yr Skull’ (selected by The Flaming Lips)

‘Slow Revolution’ (new track)

Watch the trailer for 1991: The Year Punk Broke below:

Latest music and film news on

Uncut have teamed up with Sonic Editions to curate a number of limited-edition framed iconic rock photographs, featuring the likes of Pink Floyd, Bob Dylan and The Clash. View the full collection here.


Latest Issue