The Pretenders to release their first album in eight years

Alone has been produced by Black Keys' Dan Auerbach

Trending Now

The Pretenders have announced details of Alone, their first studio album in eight years.

The album will be released on October 21 through BMG.

It was recorded in Nashville and produced by The Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach and features bassist Dave Roe, guitarist Kenny Vaughan plus members of Dan Auerbach’s side project The Arcs: Richard Swift, drums, Leon Michels, keyboards and Russ Pahl providing pedal steel. The album was mixed by Tchad Blake (Arctic Monkeys, Peter Gabriel, Elvis Costello). Duane Eddy also features on “Never Be Together”.


Of the new album Chrissie Hynde said: “This record is what I love the most – real people playing real music. I sang and recorded every vocal in a 48 hour period – 48 hours to sing them, 40 years of preparation!”

The track listing for Alone is:

Roadie Man
Gotta Wait
Never Be Together
Let’s Get Lost
Chord Lord
Blue Eyed Sky
The Man You Are
One More Day
I Hate Myself
Death Is Not Enough
Holy Commotion (CD BONUS TRACK)


The October 2016 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring our cover story on David Bowie, plus Margo Price, Lou Reed, David Crosby, Devendra Banhart, Van Der Graaf Generator, The Turtles, The Beatles, Granny Takes A Trip, Kate Bush, Drive-By Truckers, Jack White, Ray Charles, Led Zeppelin, Wilco and more plus 32 pages of reviews and our free 15-track CD

Uncut: the spiritual home of great rock music.


Latest Issue