Pretenders announce new album, Hate For Sale

Hear lead track "The Buzz" now

Trending Now

Tim Buckley’s Starsailor: “It was just so good in the studio”

Bandmates recount the making of his mercurial masterpiece

The 8th Uncut New Music Playlist Of 2020

It's Friday afternoon, so it's time for another of our rarer-than-intended rundowns of the finest new music that's appeared...

Michael Stipe: “I don’t have to please anyone but myself”

In Uncut's exclusive interview, he discusses new solo material and REM's legacy

Introducing the Ultimate Music Guide to Wilco

It’s been 25 years since the first Wilco album, the fiery AM, and it’s an anniversary we felt like...

Chrissie Hynde has announced that the new Pretenders album Hate For Sale will be released by BMG on May 1.

Listen to lead track “The Buzz” below:


Speaking about “The Buzz”, Chrissie Hynde says: “I think we all know that love affairs can take on the characteristics of drug addiction. It’s about that. Not mine of course – I’m never obsessive never obsessive never obsessive.”

Hate For Sale was produced by Stephen Street and written collaboratively by Chrissie Hynde and guitarist James Walbourne. Peruse the tracklisting below:

‘Hate For Sale’
‘The Buzz’
‘Lightning Man’
‘Turf Accountant Daddy’
‘You Can’t Hurt a Fool’
‘I Didn’t Know When To Stop’
‘Maybe Love Is In NYC’
‘Junkie Walk’
‘Didn’t Want To Be This Lonely’
‘Crying in Public’


Latest Issue

Peter Gabriel, Michael Stipe, The Flaming Lips, Tim Buckley, David Bowie, Archie Shepp, Jonathan Richman, Mary Chapin Carpenter and The Rolling Stones