New Smiths Best of Compilation To Be Released

Morrissey endorsed two disc set including rarities will be available to download too

Trending Now

Fleet Foxes – Shore

Robin Pecknold's tide-like ruminations on ageing, loss and uncertain times

PJ Harvey, Tom Petty, Idles and more star in the new Uncut

In this issue, John Fogerty talks about the influence that one of his favourite bands had on Creedence Clearwater...

The 10th Uncut New Music Playlist Of 2020

William Tyler, New Order, Todd Rundgren, Gwenifer Raymond and much more

Introducing the Ultimate Music Guide to the Grateful Dead

Meeting your heroes can be disappointing. As you’ll read in our new Ultimate Music Guide, when Melody Maker’s Steve...

A brand new Smiths collection ‘The Sound of The Smiths’ is to be released in the UK on November 10.

With 45 remastered tracks across two discs, the Morrissey and Johnny Marr endorsed collection spans the legendary group’s career from 1983 to 1987, with classic singles such as “How Soon Is Now”, “Panic” and “Girlfriend in A Coma”, as well as b-sides and live recordings.

The Sound of The Smiths will be available to buy as one disc or both, as well as digitally, making some of these tracks available as downloads for the first time.


The Sound of The Smiths full track listing is:
Disc One:
Hand in Glove
This Charming Man
What Difference Does It Make ? (Peel Session version)
Still Ill
Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now
William, It Was Really Nothing
How Soon Is Now? (12” version)
Nowhere Fast
Shakespeare’s Sister
Barbarism Begins At Home (7” version)
That Joke Isn’t Funny Anymore
The Headmaster Ritual
The Boy With The Thorn In His Side
Bigmouth Strikes Again
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
You Just Haven’t Earned It Yet, Baby
Shoplifters of the World Unite
Sheila Take a Bow
Girlfriend in a Coma
I Started Something I Couldn’t Finish
Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me

Disc Two:
Handsome Devil (Live)
This Charming Man (New York Vocal)
Wonderful Woman
Back To The Old House
These Things Take Time
Girl Afraid
Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want
Stretch Out And Wait
Oscillate Wildly
Meat Is Murder (Live)
Money Changes Everything
The Queen Is Dead
Vicar in a Tutu
Cemetery Gates
Half a Person
Sweet And Tender Hooligan
Pretty Girls Make Graves [Troy Tate Demo]
Stop me If you Think You’ve Heard This One Before
What’s The World? (Live)
London (Live)

For more music and film news click here


Latest Issue

PJ Harvey, Tom Petty, Idles, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Matt Berninger, Steel Pulse, Hüsker Dü, Laura Veirs, Chris Hillman and Isaac Hayes