New John Martyn anthology to feature demos, rarities and unreleased songs

Head And Heart – The Acoustic John Martyn is due in April

Trending Now

A new anthology of John Martyn‘s songs has been announced.

The 35-track, double CD set called Head And Heart – The Acoustic John Martyn will be released on April 28, 2017.

The set comprises material from his 1967 debut London Conversation through to a version of “Patterns In The Rain“, recorded live at Island Records 25th birthday party in 1987.


In addition, the album also features four previously unreleased recordings, including three demo versions of songs recorded at the sessions for 1968’s The Tumbler and the long lost 1971 performance of “Bless The Weather” for The Old Grey Whistle Test.

The set included liner notes by Uncut contributor and author of the Sandy Denny biography, I’ve Always Kept A Unicorn, Mick Houghton.

The tracklisting for Head And Heart is:


Fairy Tale Lullaby – from London Conversation
London Conversation – from London Conversation
Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright – from London Conversation
She Moved Through The Fair – from London Conversation
Goin’ Down To Memphis – demo from The Tumbler session *
A Day At The Sea – demo from The Tumbler session *
Seven Black Roses – demo from The Tumbler session *
Woodstock – from Stormbringer!
John The Baptist – demo from Stormbringer! session
Traffic Light Lady – demo from Stormbringer! session
Parcels – from The Road To Ruin with Beverley Martyn
New Day – from The Road To Ruin with Beverley Martyn
Tree Green – from The Road To Ruin with Beverley Martyn
Go Easy – from Bless The Weather
Bless The Weather – Old Grey Whistle Test performance *
Head And Heart – from Bless The Weather
Singin’ In The Rain – alternative take
In The Evening – from Ain’t No Saint

( * ) Previously Unreleased

Disc 2:
The Glory Of Love – from Ain’t No Saint
Solid Air – from Solid Air
Over The Hill – alternative take from Solid Air Deluxe Edition
May You Never – live from Solid Air Deluxe Edition
Go Down Easy – Take 3 from Island Years box set
When It’s Dark – from Solid Air Deluxe Edition
Fine Lines – from Inside Out
Ways To Cry – from Inside Out
Beverley / Make No Mistake – The Bob Harris Show, 15/10/1973
One Day Without You – John Peel session, 13/1/1975
Lay It All Down – from Sunday’s Child
My Baby Girl – John Peel session, 13/1/1975
All For The Love Of You – from Ain’t No Saint
Working It Out – from Ain’t No Saint
Spencer The Rover – John Peel Session, 13/1/1975
Certain Surprise / Couldn’t Love You More – John Peel session, 4/2/1977
Patterns In The Rain – live at Island Records Birthday Party, 4/7/1987

The April 2017 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring our cover story on Björk. Elsewhere in the issue, there’s interviews with Deep Purple, Chrissie Hynde, The Magnetic Fields and we look inside legendary LA venue The Troubadour, while our free CD collects great new tracks from Grandaddy, Laura Marling, Real Estate, Hurray For The Riff Raff and more. The issue also features Alison Krauss on her best recorded work. Plus John Mayall, Jaki Liebezeit RP, Procul Harum, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, The Creation, Buena Vista Social Club, Elliott Smith, George Harrison, The Jesus And Mary Chain, Sleaford Mods and more, plus 131 reviews


Latest Issue