Mogwai announce new album details

New record is out in September

Trending Now

Richard Thompson on the flowering of Fairport Convention

"There was a musical explosion – you could play almost anything and be accepted"

My Bloody Valentine: “We were like the Partridge Family on acid”

With the news that My Bloody Valentine have released their catalogue across streaming services for the first time, it...

Alan Horne on the resurrection of Postcard Records

"There’s no conceivable excuse to be whoring yourself off to any crooked corporate malarkey"

Introducing the Deluxe Ultimate Music Guide to Neil Young

Updated with a deep dive into Archives II and more

Mogwai have revealed full details of their new album, ‘The Hawk Is Howling’.

The album, the band’s seventh, is out on September 22, and will be preceded by a three-track EP, ‘Batcat’, two weeks earlier (September 8).

Mogwai have also teamed up with legendary ex-13th Floor Elevators frontman Roky Erickson for the song from the EP, ‘Devil Rides’.

The tracklisting of ‘The Hawk Is Howling’ will be:

‘I’m Jim Morrison, I’m Dead’
‘Danphe And The Brain’
‘Local Authority’
‘The Sun Smells Too Loud’
‘Kings Meadow’
‘I Love You, I’m Going To Blow Up Your School’
‘Scotland’s Shame’
‘Thank You Space Expert’
‘The Precipice’

As previously reported, the band will play three UK dates in October, calling at:
Edinburgh Corn Exchange (October 21)
Manchester Academy (October 23)
London Hammersmith Apollo (October 24)


Latest Issue

The Velvet Underground, The Black Crowes, Bunny Wailer, Richard Thompson, Nick Cave, Rhiannon Giddens, Laurie Anderson, Blake Mills, Postcard Records, Mogwai and The Selecter