Kris Kristofferson to celebrate 80th birthday with double album

The Cedar Creek Sessions arrive in June

Trending Now

Kris Kristofferson will mark his 80th birthday – on June 22 – with a new album.

The 25-track collection, Cedar Creek Sessions, was recorded in Austin, Texas in the summer of 2014. The two-disc set was produced by Tamara Saviano and Shawn Camp and features Kevin Smith on bass, Michael Ramos on keyboard and Mike Meadows on drums.

It is Kristofferson’s first album since Feeling Mortal in January 2013.


The album – which is released on June 17 – features new renditions of some of Kristofferson’s biggest hits.

Volume One
“Duvalier’s Dream”
“The Loving Gift” (with special guest Sheryl Crow)
“The Sabre and the Rose”
“The Law Is for the Protection of the People”
“It No Longer Matters What I Do”
“Stagger Mountain Tragedy”
“The Wife You Save”
“Lay Me Down and Love the World Away”
“The Bigger the Fool (The Harder the Fall)”
“Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down”
“Spooky Lady’s Revenge”
“Forever in Your Love”

Volume Two
“Darby’s Castle”
“Me and Bobby McGee”
“Broken Freedom Song”
“Casey’s Last Ride”
“Billy Dee”
“Easter Island”
“For the Good Times”
“Help Me Make It Through the Night”
“Jody and the Kid”
“Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I’ll Ever Do Again)”
“Risky Business”
“To Beat the Devil”


The June 2016 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring our cover story on Blondie, plus George Martin, Brian Eno, Dexys, The Monkees, Graham Nash, Merle Haggard, Ronnie Spector, Tony Joe White, Frank Zappa, Eric Clapton, The Coral, Max Richter and more plus 40 pages of reviews and our free 15-track CD

Uncut: the spiritual home of great rock music.


Latest Issue