Adam Ant is on the bill, too

Iggy Pop, Adam Ant and The Damned have joined the Isle of Wight Festival 2016 line-up.

The acts are joined on the bill by Buzzcocks, The Godfathers and The Sex Pissed Dolls in what the festival are describing as a celebration of punk’s 40th anniversary.

The six new acts join non-punk acts Queen + Adam Lambert, Stereophonics and Faithless on the bill for the festival, which takes place on June 9-12 in Seaclose Park, Newport.

1976 saw The Damned release “New Rose“, the Sex Pistols sign to EMI records and the Ramones release their debut album among other punk highlights.

Isle of Wight Festival takes place at Seaclose Park in Newport between June 9-12. Faithless and Stereophonics will co-headline on Friday June 10 and join Queen on the bill following the announcement that they will top the bill of the festival on Sunday June 12.

Headliners at this year’s festival included Fleetwood Mac, The Black Keys and Blur.

The January 2016 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring Paul Weller, David Bowie, Best Of 2015, Roger Waters, Father John Misty, Pere Ubu, Robert Forster, Natalie Prass, James Brown, Bruce Springsteen, Sunn O))), Jonny Greenwood, Arthur Lee & Love, Neil Young, Janis Joplin and more.

Uncut: the spiritual home of great rock music.