Capital Punishment's 1982 album Roadkill getting reissued by Captured Tracks

Back in 1982, future Hollywood star Ben Stiller was the drummer for a New York post-punk band called Capital Punishment.

The band had formed in 1979 when the four members were still at school. Influenced by Cabaret Voltaire, Throbbing Gristle and Chrome, they got as far a self-releasing an album called Roadkill, which is being reissued by Captured Tracks on September 14.

Get Uncut delivered to your door – find out by clicking here!

Listen to a track from it, “Muzak Anonymous”, below:

The band may have gone no further, but its members have subsequently done well enough for themselves. As well as Stiller, it featured a future Arizona court of appeals judge and a UCL professor.

Like us on Facebook to keep up to date with the latest news from Uncut.

The August 2018 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with Prince on the cover. Elsewhere in the issue, you’ll find exclusive features on John Coltrane, Graham Nash, Cowboy Junkies, Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever, Hawkwind, Jennifer Warnes, Teenage Fanclub, David Sylvian, Wilko Johnson and many more. Our free CD showcases 15 tracks of this month’s best new music, including Israel Nash, Dirty Projectors, Luluc, Ty Segall and White Fence, Nathan Salsburg and Gwenifer Raymond.

Uncut: the past, present and future of great music.