Guided By Voices, Jakob Dylan and The Replacements write songs for final Glen Campbell album

Country legend's 'Ghost On The Canvas' is released in August

Trending Now

Jakob Dylan and members of Guided By Voices and The Replacements have written songs for the final album from country legend Glen Campbell.

The ‘Wichita Lineman’ star is bowing out of the music industry after a six-decade career, but not before releasing one final album, ‘Ghost On The Canvas’. The album is released on August 31.

Songs for the record have been written by Bob Dylan‘s son Jacob, alongside Robert Pollard from Guided By Voices and Paul Westerberg from The Replacements. Also turning up as guest musicians are Billy Corgan, The Dandy Warhols, Chris Isaak, Rick Nielsen, Brian Setzer and Dick Dale.


As well as his extensive solo career, Campbell was part of the session guitar team the Wrecking Crew, who were the ensemble of choice for Phil Spector. He also played on albums by Frank Sinatra, The Monkees and Dean Martin, as well as guesting on The Beach Boys‘ seminal ‘Pet Sounds’.

In his own right, he has sold 45 million albums and enjoyed 81 top ten hits, hosted a TV show with a global audience of 50 million, has been inducted into the Country Music Hall Of Fame and also donated a song to the original True Grit.

The tracklisting for ‘Ghost On The Canvas’ is:


‘A Better Place’

‘Ghost On The Canvas’

‘The Billstown Crossroads’

‘A Thousand Lifetimes’

‘It’s Your Amazing Grace’

‘Second Street North’

‘In My Arms’

‘May 21st 1969’

‘Nothing But The Whole Wide World’

‘Wild And Waste’

‘Hold On Hope’

‘Valley Of The Sun’

‘Any Trouble’


‘The Rest Is Silence’

‘There‚Äôs No Me Without You’

Latest music and film news on

Uncut have teamed up with Sonic Editions to curate a number of limited-edition framed iconic rock photographs, featuring the likes of Pink Floyd, Bob Dylan and The Clash. View the full collection here.


Latest Issue