Gary Numan To Headline 24 Hour Musical Picnic

Ladytron, Morcheeba and even breakfast in bed promised at inaugural festival

Trending Now

Introducing the new Uncut: Robert Plant, Malkmus, Iggy, Elton and more

Thanks, first of all, for the overwhelmingly positive response to Sounds Of The New West Volume 5 last month....

An Audience With Andrew Weatherall

By way of tribute to Andrew Weatherall, whose death was confirmed earlier today, I thought I’d post my interview...

Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever on their new album: “It’s weirder… it feels exciting”

In our recent 2020 album preview, Fran Keaney, singer and acoustic guitarist in Melbourne's Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever, told...

Gary Numan is to headline the first ever Magic Loungeabout festival in Yorkshire later this month (August 30-31).

Ladytron, Morcheeba and Nouvelle Vague are also on the bill for the inaugural ’24-hour picnic’ event taking place at the lakeside Newburgh Priory in Coxwold.

Two aftershow parties will be held until 3am with DJs form the ‘Late Night Tales’ compilation series (Fila Brasilia, Groove Armada, Zero 7) as well as the house music legend John Kelly.

The festival promises “laid back electronic pop by day and full on electronica by night” with plenty of other areas and activities, including a Garden Spa area, and hourly book readings for children in the Magic Garden.

Organised by the people behind festivals such as The Big Chill, The Magic Loungeabout promise new quirks like “sherpas
to take your bags to the site, a lakeside cocktail bar,
fabulous local food and will offer breakfast in bed and
the papers delivered to you in the morning.”

Tickets are priced at £39 for an evening only entertainment
ticket (entry from 7pm) and £78 for a full 24 hour event pass.

Tickets are available exclusively through the website
or by calling ticket line on 0871 424 4444.

For more music and film news click here


Latest Issue

Robert Plant, Karen Dalton, Elton John, Stephen Malkmus, Maria McKee, Shabaka Hutchings and Iggy & Bowie – plus a free 15-track CD