Elbow, Coldplay And More Nominated for Songwriters Award

Ivor Novello honours shortlist is revealed

Trending Now

Elbow, Coldplay and Last Shadow Puppets are amongst the nominees for this year’s Ivor Novello Awards, the industry honour for songwriting achievement.

The annual celebration of British talent is now in it’s 54th year and other shortlisted artists include Radiohead‘s Jonny Greenwood, Dizzee Rascal and MIA.

The full list of nominations are:


Best Song Musically And Lyrically:

The Last Shadow Puppets – ‘My Mistakes Were Made For You’

Elbow – ‘One Day Like This’


The Leisure Society – ‘The Last Of The Melting Snow’

Best Contemporary Song:

Dizzee Rascal – ‘Dance Wiv Me’

Elbow – ‘Grounds For Divorce’

The Ting Tings – ‘That’s Not My Name’

Best Original Film Score:

David Arnold – ‘Quantum of Solace’

Benjamin Wallfisch – ‘The Escapist’

Jonny Greenwood – ‘There Will Be Blood’

Best Television Soundtrack:

Ben Bartlett – ‘Fiona’s Story’

Anne Dudley – ‘Trial and Retribution 2008’

Julian Nott – ‘Wallace And Gromit (A Matter of Loaf and Death)’

PRS For Music Most Performed Work:

Duffy – ‘Mercy’

Gabriella Cilmi – ‘Sweet About Me’

Coldplay – ‘Viva La Vida’

Best Selling British Song:

Duffy – ‘Mercy’

M.I.A – ‘Paper Planes’

Coldplay – ‘Viva La Vida’

Album Award:

Duffy – ‘Rockferry’

Coldplay – ‘Viva La Vida or Death And All His Friends’

The Ting Tings – ‘We Started Nothing’

For more music and film news click here

You can also now follow Uncut on Twitter! For news alerts, to find out what we’re playing on the stereo and more, join us here @uncutmagazine


Latest Issue