Dinosaur Jr’s Mascis Appears On New BSS ‘Solo’ Project

Plus Kevin Drew shows off 'Spirit If' live in the UK this week

Trending Now

Core member of the ever expanding and contracting Broken Social Sceneplayers, Kevin Drew is to play a handful of UK shows this week, playing material from new ‘solo’ project ‘Spirit If’.

The solo album – attributed to Broken Social Scene Presents Kevin Drew – features most current and former BSS musicians from the group playing songs that Drew has written.

Other BSS core member Brendan Channing is currently holed up in Toronto recording the second of the ‘BSS Presents’ series.


‘Spirit If…’ was recorded over the last two years at Ohad Benchetrit’s house and was produced by Drew, Benchetrit and Charles Spearin.

The album also features a guest appearance from Dinosaur Jr’s J. Mascis.

The full track listing for the album is as follows:


01. Farewell To The Pressure Kids

02. TBTF

03. F–ked up kid

04. Safety Bricks

05. Lucky Ones

06. Broke Me Up

07. Gang Bang Suicide

08. Frightening Lives

09. Underneath The Skin

10. Big Love

11. Backed Out On The…

12. Aging Faces / Losing Places

13. Bodhi Sappy Weekend

14. When It Begins

The track TBTF is currently available as a free download here:


Kevin Drew is currently on a short UK tour, he plays:

Manchester – Academy (October 16)

Birmingham – Academy (17)

London – Koko (19)


Latest Issue