Devendra Banhart announces new album, Ma

Watch a video for the first single, "Kantori Ongaku"

Trending Now

Richard Thompson on the flowering of Fairport Convention

"There was a musical explosion – you could play almost anything and be accepted"

My Bloody Valentine: “We were like the Partridge Family on acid”

With the news that My Bloody Valentine have released their catalogue across streaming services for the first time, it...

Alan Horne on the resurrection of Postcard Records

"There’s no conceivable excuse to be whoring yourself off to any crooked corporate malarkey"

Introducing the Deluxe Ultimate Music Guide to Neil Young

Updated with a deep dive into Archives II and more

Devendra Banhart has announced that his new album, Ma, will be released by Nonesuch Records on September 13.

Watch a video for the first single, “Kantori Ongaku”, below:

Order the latest issue of Uncut online and have it sent to your home!


was recorded with Noah Georgeson at 64 Sound and Sea Horse Studios in Los Angeles, and Anderson Canyon in Big Sur. Cate Le Bon contributes background vocals on “Now All Gone” while Banhart’s mentor, muse and friend Vashti Bunyan duets with him on “Will I See You Tonight?”.

You can pre-order Ma here and peruse the tracklisting below:

1. Is This Nice?
2. Kantori Ongaku
3. Ami
4. Memorial
5. Carolina
6. Now All Gone
7. Love Song
8. Abre Las Manos
9. Taking a Page
10. October 12
11. My Boyfriend’s In The Band
12. The Lost Coast
13. Will I See You Tonight? (featuring Vashti Bunyan)

The August 2019 issue of Uncut is on sale from June 13, and available to order online now – with Bruce Springsteen on the cover. Inside, you’ll find The Rolling Stones, The Raconteurs, Woodstock, Black Sabbath, Beak>, Doves, Jimmy Cliff, Billy Childish, the Flamingo Club and more. Our 15-track CD also showcases the best of the month’s new music, including The Black Keys, 75 Dollar Bill, House And Land, Trash Kit, Mega Bog and more.


Latest Issue

The Velvet Underground, The Black Crowes, Bunny Wailer, Richard Thompson, Nick Cave, Rhiannon Giddens, Laurie Anderson, Blake Mills, Postcard Records, Mogwai and The Selecter