David Byrne’s Meltdown: first acts announced

The event takes place on London's Southbank during August

Trending Now

The first wave of names has been announced for this year’s Meltdown festival.

The festival – which this year is curated by David Byrne – runs at London’s Southbank Centre from Monday, August 17 – 30.

The line-up includes Anna Calvi, Young Marble Giants, Benjamin Clementine, Estrella Morente, Sunn O))), Atomic Bomb! The Music of William Onyeabor, David Longstreth, Matthew Herbert, Petra Haden and Hypnotic Brass Ensemble, with more artists to be announced.


The festival, now in its 22nd year, finds Byrne following in the footsteps of previous directors that include Jarvis Cocker, Patti Smith, David Bowie, Yoko Ono, Ray Davies and Ornette Coleman.

You can find more details about this year’s Meltdown by clicking here.

The first wave of acts are:


Estrella Morente – Royal Festival Hall (August 17)
Bianca Casady & The CIA – Queen Elizabeth Hall (17, 18)
Sunn O))) + Phurpa – Royal Festival Hall (18)
Psapp – Queen Elizabeth Hall (19)
Atomic Bomb – Royal Festival Hall (20)
Maria Rodés – Purcell Room (20)
Hypnotic Brass Ensemble – Queen Elizabeth Hall (20)
Benjamin Clementine – Queen Elizabeth Hall (21)
Petra Haden – Purcell Room (21)
Carmen Consoli – Royal Festival Hall (21)
Anna Calvi – Queen Elizabeth Hall (22)
John Luther Adams: Across A Distance – Southbank Centre (23)
Matthew Herbert – Queen Elizabeth Hall (23)
Lonnie Holley – Queen Elizabeth Hall (24)
David Longstreth + Gabi – Royal Festival Hall (25)
Francois & The Atlas Mountains + Zun Zun Egui – Queen Elizabeth Hall (25)
Young Marble Giants – Royal Festival Hall (27)
Gob Squad: Western Society – Purcell Room (27)
Young Jean Lee: We’re Gonna Die – Queen Elizabeth Hall (30)


Latest Issue