David Bowie’s ‘lost’ 2001 album ‘Toy’ appears online

14-track album features re-recorded songs from back catalogue

Trending Now

David Bowie‘s shelved album from 2001 ‘Toy’ has appeared online.

A high quality rip of the 14-track album appeared on file-sharing sites on Sunday (March 20) and has been shared by fans since.

The album features re-recorded and revamped versions of some of Bowie’s earliest tracks. It was due to be released as a follow-up to 1999’s ‘Hours…’ but was shelved after a dispute between Bowie and his then-label Virgin.


Two tracks from the album, ‘Uncle Floyd’ and ‘Afraid’, made it onto 2002’s ‘Heathen’. Three others, ‘Baby Loves That Way’, ‘Shadow Man’ and ‘You’ve Got A Habit Of Leaving’, were released as b-sides.

It is not know who who leaked the album. Rolling Stone reports that Bowie‘s office “declined to comment” on the leak.

The ‘Toy’ tracklisting is:


‘Uncle Floyd’


‘Baby Loves That Way’

‘I Dig Everything’

‘Conversation Piece’

‘Let Me Sleep Beside You’

‘Toy (Your Turn To Drive)’

‘Hole In The Ground’

‘Shadow Man’

‘In The Heat Of The Morning’

‘You’ve Got A Habit Of Leaving’

‘Silly Boy Blue’

‘Liza Jane’

‘The London Boys’

Latest music and film news on Uncut.co.uk.

Uncut have teamed up with Sonic Editions to curate a number of limited-edition framed iconic rock photographs, featuring the likes of Pink Floyd, Bob Dylan and The Clash. View the full collection here.


Latest Issue