Byrds Legend To Judge International Talent Competition

Chris Hillman joins Tom Waits, Jerry Lee Lewis and Lorretta Lyn

Trending Now

The Byrds and Flying Burrito Brothers’ Chris Hillman, Tom Waits, Jerry Lee Lewis and Lorretta Lyn are amongst the extraordinary lineup of musicians chosen to judge the International Songwriting Contest.

They join Ray Davies, Robert Smith of The Cure, Chaka Khan, Black Francis, John Mayall and music industry executives to decide who will win the top prize of $25,000.

“Judging the competition was a real pleasure,” said Robert Smith, explaining why he has returned to the judging panel.

“I was astounded at the quality and range of abilities on show – the originality, honesty, and depth of so many of the words, the charm, vivacity, and catchiness of the tunes, and the often staggering energy, skill, and intensity of the performances – the talent left me at times breathless!”

The competition aims to find the best new songwriters from all over the world with categories for Americana, Blues and Folk as well as Dance, Gospel, Jazz and Instrumental.

Entrants can submit as many tracks as they care to in one or more genres.

Depending on the category, submissions are judged on the basis of the following criteria: Creativity, Originality, Lyrics, Melody, and Arrangement.

The deadline for entries is July 15, see for details.


Latest Issue