Blur’s Damon Albarn announces ‘Dr Dee’ studio album details

Damon Albarn will release a studio album of material composed for his Dr Dee opera on May 7.

Trending Now

Damon Albarn will release a studio album of material composed for his Dr Dee opera on May 7.

The Blur frontman recorded the 18-track album late last year at his west London studio with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra.

Albarn has described the album, which is inspired by inspired by mathematician, polymath and advisor to Elizabeth I John Dee, as containing “strange pastoral folk” songs.

He’s set to perform the songs with singers and musicians featured on the album at Wiltshire even OneFest on April 14, following the premiere of the production at the Manchester International Festival last summer.

Speaking about the show, Albarn commented: “I’m really looking forward to the festival. Wiltshire in spring feels like a perfect setting for Dr Dee songs. Some of my favourite musicians are playing with me, it will be special.”

The tracklisting of ‘Dr Dee’ is as follows:

‘The Golden Dawn
‘Apple Carts’
‘Oh Spirit Animate Us’
‘The Moon Exalted’
‘A Man of England’
‘The Marvelous Dream’
‘A Prayer’
‘Edward Kelley’
‘9 Point Star’
‘Temptation Comes In The Afternoon’
‘Watching the Fire That Waltzed Away’
‘Moon (Interlude)’
‘Tree Of Life’
‘The Dancing King’

Last month, Albarn reunited with Blur to accept the Outstanding Contribution To Music award at the Brit Awards. The Britpop legends are scheduled to headline the Olympic Closing Ceremony Celebration Concert at London’s Hyde Park on August 12. They’re also due to play at Sweden’s Way Out West festival during the same month.


Latest Issue

Bob Dylan, Paul Weller, Marianne Faithfull, Stephen Stills, Spiritualized, Can, The Strokes, Matt Sweeney & Bonnie 'Prince' Billy, James, UB40, My Bloody Valentine, the Plastic Ono Band and Sun Ra