Arctic Monkeys Nominated For Mercury For Second Year Running

The shortlist for the Nationwide Music Prize is revealed

Trending Now

The 7th Uncut New Music Playlist Of 2020

Sufjan Stevens, Bill Callahan, Sarah Davachi, David Gilmour… and Sun Ra Arkestra!

Laurel Canyon: A Place In Time

Familiar stories from a fabled West Coast locale, enlivened by intimate archival footage

Robert Fripp on Eno, Bowie and King Crimson

"Whenever you walk on stage – maximum hazard!"

Introducing the Deluxe Ultimate Music Guide to Paul Weller

Even with a new album out this week, and with the pandemic striking at the heart of how musicians...

This year’s Nationwide Mercury Music Prize Shortlist has been reveleasd this morning (July 17) and includes two previous winners.

Arctic Monkeys have been nominated for the second year running with their second album ‘Favourite Worst Nightmare’. They won the £20, 000 award last year for their debut ‘Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not’.

The British hip-hop/grime producer/MC Dizzee Rascal, also a winner of the prize in 2003 for his debut ‘Boy In The Corner’ has also been nominated for the award again. His new album ‘Maths + English’ is up for contention.


This year’s shortlist appears to reflect the resurgence indie dance and the continuing success of guitar bands. Bands the Klaxons, New Young Pony Club, The View and The Young Knives are all in competition for the award due to be announced on September 4.

Arctic Monkeys – ‘Favourite Worst Nightmare’
Dizzee Rascal – ‘Maths + English’
Bat for Lashes – ‘Fur and Gold’
Maps – ‘We Can Create’
Fionn Regan – ‘The End of History’
The View – ‘Hats Off to the Buskers’
New Young Pony Club – ‘Fantastic Playroom’
Dizzee Rascal – ‘Maths + English’
Klaxons – ‘Myths of the Near Future’
Amy Winehouse – ‘Back to Black’
The Young Knives – ‘Voices of Animals and Men’
Jamie T – ‘Panic Prevention’
Basquiat Strings – ‘Basquiat Strings with Seb Rochford’

So what do think of the judges shortlist? Has anyone been criminally left off? Who are you placing bets on?

Let us know here…

And you can read Uncut’s thoughts on the shortlist at our Wild Mercury Sound blog.


Latest Issue

The Beatles, Bob Dylan, Robert Fripp, Khruangbin, Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever, Laura Marling, Siouxsie & The Banshees, Little Richard and more