Arctic Monkeys And Amy Winehouse Triumph At Ivor Novello Awards

Peter Gabriel and Yusuf Islam also saluted at industry bash

Trending Now

Arctic Monkeys and Amy Winehouse came out on top at the 52nd Ivor Novello Awards yesterday (May 24).

Alex Turner collected the Album Award for “Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not”, while Amy Winehouse’s “Rehab” was named Best Contemporary Song.

The Scissor Sisters, Scott Matthews, Madonna and The Feeling were also celebrated at the traditionally conservative industry bash, held at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London. Yusuf Islam was acclaimed for Outstanding Song Collection, while Peter Gabriel was given a Lifetime Achievement Award. You can read an exclusive interview with Gabriel in the next issue of Uncut, out May 31.


Here are the full list of winners, for your delectation and horror:

International Hit Of The Year: Madonna, “Sorry”

Album Award: Arctic Monkeys, “Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not”


Best Contemporary Song: Amy Winehouse, “Rehab”

Best Television Soundtrack: Martin Phipps, “The Virgin Queen”

Best Selling UK single: Leona Lewis, “A Moment Like This”

Outstanding Song Collection: Yusuf Islam

The Ivors Classical Music Award: John Rutter CBE

PRS Most Performed Work: Scissor Sisters, “I Don’t Feel Like Dancin'”

Best Original Film Score: John Powell, “Ice Age The Meltdown”

PRS Outstanding Contribution to British Music: Norman Cook

Best Song Musically & Lyrically: Scott Matthews, “Elusive”

Songwriters Of The Year: The Feeling

Lifetime Achievement Award: Peter Gabriel

The Special International Award: Quincy Jones

The Academy Fellowship: George Fenton

Related itemsArctic Monkeys NME page


Latest Issue