Unheard Thin Lizzy Live Album

Historic recording from 1975 gets re-mastered

Trending Now

Richard Thompson on the flowering of Fairport Convention

"There was a musical explosion – you could play almost anything and be accepted"

My Bloody Valentine: “We were like the Partridge Family on acid”

With the news that My Bloody Valentine have released their catalogue across streaming services for the first time, it...

Alan Horne on the resurrection of Postcard Records

"There’s no conceivable excuse to be whoring yourself off to any crooked corporate malarkey"

Introducing the Deluxe Ultimate Music Guide to Neil Young

Updated with a deep dive into Archives II and more

Thin Lizzy will release a new live album of their “UK Tour 75″ including four unheard live tracks.

The original recordings were made over one night for broadcast on the radio and the pristine ¼” master tape has been transferred and re-mastered with the band’s supervision.

The 15-track album features the ‘classic’ Thin Lizzy lineup – Phil Lynott on vocals and bass guitar, Brian Downey on percussion, Scott Gorham and Brian Robertson playing dual lead guitar – performing at Derby College on November 21 1975.

“In 1975, the band had decided on a different attitude, to change to a harder rock sound,” said Brian Downey.

“The softer songs from the previous album ‘Nightlife’ were to be replaced by more stage-orientated songs, as we planned to put our rock’n’roll stamp on the next album ‘Fighting’.”

One of the rare tracks on the album is an early prototype version of the ‘Cowboy Song’ and a version of ‘Little Darling’, which was dropped from their live set soon after their 1975 tour.

The band had been on the road since releasingFighting a few months before they hit international success with Jailbreak.

The deluxe album includes a 20-page booklet of unseen photos, liner notes written by Brian Downey and extra material of the band jamming during their sound check.


‘Fighting My Way Back’
‘It’s Only Money’
‘Wild One’
‘For Those Who Love To Live’
‘Still In Love With You’
‘The Rocker’
‘Sha La La’
‘Baby Drives Me Crazy’
‘Me And The Boys’
‘Cowboy Song’
‘Little Darling’
‘Sound Check Jam’


Latest Issue

The Velvet Underground, The Black Crowes, Bunny Wailer, Richard Thompson, Nick Cave, Rhiannon Giddens, Laurie Anderson, Blake Mills, Postcard Records, Mogwai and The Selecter