New Bert Jansch ‘best of’ announced

Two-disc collection Just A Simple Soul due out in October

Trending Now

Introducing the new Uncut: Robert Plant, Malkmus, Iggy, Elton and more

Thanks, first of all, for the overwhelmingly positive response to Sounds Of The New West Volume 5 last month....

An Audience With Andrew Weatherall

By way of tribute to Andrew Weatherall, whose death was confirmed earlier today, I thought I’d post my interview...

Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever on their new album: “It’s weirder… it feels exciting”

In our recent 2020 album preview, Fran Keaney, singer and acoustic guitarist in Melbourne's Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever, told...

A new career-spanning Bert Jansch ‘best of’ collection called Just A Simple Soul has been announced for October 26.

Compiled by Bernard Butler and the Bert Jansch estate, it draws from all eras of Jansch’s solo output, from his 1965 self-titled debut through to his final album, 2006’s Black Swan.

Get Uncut delivered to your door – find out by clicking here!


Peruse the tracklisting below:

Side 1

1. Strolling Down The Highway
2. Angie
3. Needle Of Death
4. It Don’t Bother Me
5. Black Water Side
6. Soho
7. The Time Has Come

Side 2
1. Go Your Way My Love
2. Come Back Baby
3. Poison
4. The Bright New Year
5. Rosemary Lane
6. Reynardine
7. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face

Side 3

1. Fresh As A Sweet Sunday Morning
2. Chambertin
3. Baby Blue
4. Daybreak
5. Kittiwake
6. Sweet Rose
7. Let Me Sing

Side 4
1. Morning Brings Peace of Mind
2. Carnival
3. Just A Simple Soul
4. Crimson Moon
5. On The Edge Of A Dream
6. High Days


1. Strolling Down The Highway
2. Angie
3. Needle Of Death
4. It Don’t Bother Me
5. A Man I’d Rather Be
6. The Waggoner’s Lad
7. Black Water Side
8. Soho
9. The Time Has Come
10. Go Your Way My Love
11. Come Back Baby
12. Poison
13. Promised Land
14. The Bright New Year
15. Rosemary Lane
16. Reynardine
17. M’Lady Nancy
18. Moonshine
19. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face

1. Fresh As A Sweet Sunday Morning
2. Chambertin
3. The Blacksmith
4. Baby Blue
5. Daybreak
6. Kittiwake
7. Up To The Stars
8. Sweet Rose
9. The Road Tae Dundee
10. Let Me Sing
11. When The Circus Comes To Town
12. Morning Brings Peace of Mind
13. Toy Balloon
14. Carnival
15. Just A Simple Soul
16. Crimson Moon
17. Omie Wise
18. On The Edge Of A Dream
19. The Black Swan
20. High Days


You can pre-order the album, including a limited edition tote bag bundle, here.

The August 2018 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with Prince on the cover. Elsewhere in the issue, you’ll find exclusive features on John Coltrane, Graham Nash, Cowboy Junkies, Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever, Hawkwind, Jennifer Warnes, Teenage Fanclub, David Sylvian, Wilko Johnson and many more. Our free CD showcases 15 tracks of this month’s best new music, including Israel Nash, Dirty Projectors, Luluc, Ty Segall and White Fence, Nathan Salsburg and Gwenifer Raymond.


Latest Issue

Robert Plant, Karen Dalton, Elton John, Stephen Malkmus, Maria McKee, Shabaka Hutchings and Iggy & Bowie – plus a free 15-track CD