Mogwai announce new album; share new song, “Coolverine”

The group return with their ninth album in September

Trending Now

Mogwai will release a new album, Every Country’s Sun, on September 1 through their own Rock Action label.

The group recorded the record – their ninth proper studio LP – with producer Dave Fridmann at his Tarbox Road Studios in Cassadaga, New York; Mogwai previously worked with Fridmann on their 1999 album Come On Die Young and 2001’s Rock Action.

The follow-up to 2014’s Rave Tapes, Every Country’s Sun is also their first bona fide studio album without guitarist John Cummings.


The opening track, “Coolverine”, has been made available to buy or stream – you can listen to it below.

The tracklisting of Every Country’s Sun is:

Party In The Dark
Brain Sweeties
Crossing The Road Materia
aka 47
20 Size
1000 Foot Face
Don’t Believe The Fife
Battered At A Scramble
Old Poisons
Every Country’s Sun



The June 2017 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring our cover story on Summer Of Love, talking to the musicians, promoters and scenesters on both sides of the Atlantic who were there. Plus, we count down the 50 essential songs from the Summer Of Love, from The Seeds to The Smoke, and including The Beatles, The Rolling Stones and Pink Floyd. Elsewhere in the issue, we remember Chuck Berry, go on the road with Bob Dylan and there are interview Fleet Foxes, Fairport Convention, Fred Wesley, Jane Birkin and David Lynch’s Twin Peaks’ co-conspirators Angelo Badalamenti and Julee Cruise. Our free CD has been exclusively compiled for us by Fleet Foxes’ Robin Pecknold and includes cuts from Todd Rundgren, Neu!, Van Dyke Parks, The Shaggs, Arthur Russell and Cate Le Bon. Plus there’s Feist, Paul Weller, Perfume Genius, Ray Davies, Joan Shelley, Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds, Johnny Cash, Alice Coltrane, John Martyn and more in our exhaustive reviews section




Latest Issue