Pioneers of psychedelic Americana release retrospective and brand new song

Trending Now

Mercury Rev are set to release ‘The Essential Mercury Rev – Stillness Breathes (1991-2006)’, a two-disc retrospective, on Monday (2 Oct).

Disc one contains selections from the band’s six studio albums, including the highly acclaimed Deserter’s Songs (Uncut’s Album Of The Year for 1998) and All Is Dream from 2001.

Disc two, meanwhile, is a collection of B-sides and rarities including David Bowie, Bob Dylan, John Lennon, Neil Young and Nico covers as well as other previously unreleased oddities.

As well as looking back, Mercury Rev will be issuing their first new track proper since last year’s well received album The Secret Migration – ‘Cecilia’s Lunar Expose’.

The song will appear exclusively on their Back To Mine compilation, along with a handpicked selection of the band’s favourite music from artists such as David Bowie, John Cale, Spacemen 3, and Alex Chilton.

Back To Mine is available from 20th November, through DMC world records.

The full tracklisting is:

1. A New Career In A New Town – David Bowie
2. Hotel Borg – Johan Johannsson
3. Seasons In The Sun – Terry Jacks
4. When Will You Come Home – Galaxie 500
5. I’m A Fool To Want You – Billie Holliday
6. Days of Steam – John Cale
7./=/=/ – Andrew Bird
8. The Grand Tour – George Jones
9. If I Were A Little Star – Nicolai Dunger
10. Cecilia’s Lunar Expose – Mercury Rev
12. Big City – Spacemen 3
13. Dream Baby Dream – Suicide
14. Let Me Get Close To You – Alex Chilton
15. Astral Travelling – Pharoah Sanders
16. Cast Anchor – Hanne Hukkleberg
17. Self Portrait In 3 Colours – Bill Frisell, Don Byron, Art Baron, et al
18. Uncle Bob’s Midnight Blues – Randy Newman
19. When You Wish Upon A Star – Cliff Edwards


Latest Issue