Liz Phair to release Exile In Guyville 25th anniversary box set

3xCD / 7xLP set includes her three pre-fame 'Girly-Sound' tapes

Trending Now

To celebrate its 25th anniversary, Liz Phair’s Exile In Guyville is being remastered and reissued as a 3xCD or 7xLP box set.

Girly-Sound To Guyville: The 25th Anniversary Box Set features restored and remastered audio from the three ‘Girly-Sound’ tapes Phair made for friends in the early 90s, resulting in her eventual signing to Matador. Also included is a lavish book, containing an extensive oral history, plus essays by Liz Phair and journalist Ann Powers. The vinyl version of the book contains unseen photos and artwork.


The full tracklisting is as follows:

Exile In Guyville
(Double LP, remastered by Emily Lazar at The Lodge)
1. 6’1”
2. Help Me Mary
3. Glory
4. Dance Of The Seven Veils
5. Never Said
6. Soap Star Joe
7. Explain It To Me
8. Canary
9. Mesmerizing
10. Fuck and Run
11. Girls! Girls! Girls!
12. Divorce Song
13. Shatter
14. Flower
15. Johnny Sunshine
16. Gunshy
17. Stratford-On-Guy
18. Strange Loop

Yo Yo Buddy Yup Yup Word To Ya Mutha
(Double LP, restored from Girly-Sound Cassette 1)
(Restoration by Dave Cooley at Elysian Masters)
(Mastered by Emily Lazar at The Lodge)
1. White Babies
2. Shane
3. 6 Dick Pimp
4. Divorce Song
5. Go West
6. Don’t Holdyrbreath
7. Johnny Sunshine
8. Miss Lucy
9. Elvis Song
10. Dead Shark
11. One Less Thing
12. Money
13. In Love w/Yself


Girls! Girls! Girls!
(Double LP, restored from Girly-Sound Cassette 2)
(Restoration by Dave Cooley at Elysian Masters)
(Mastered by Emily Lazar at The Lodge)
1. Hello Sailor
2. Wild-Thing
3. Fuck And Run
4. Easy Target
5. Soap Star Joe
6. Ant In Alaska
8. Polyester Bride
9. Thrax
10. Miss Mary Mack
11. Clean
12. Love Song
13. Valentine

(Single LP, restored from Girly-Sound Cassette 3)
(Restoration by Dave Cooley at Elysian Masters)
(Mastered by Emily Lazar at The Lodge)
1. Gigolo
2. Flower
3. Batmobile
4. Slave
5. Open Season
6. Suckerfish
7. California
8. South Dakota
9. Bomb
10. Easy
11. Chopsticks

Phair will support the release with a short US tour, during which she’ll only play songs from the Girly-Sound tapes. Full dates below:

5/31 – Los Angeles, CA – Masonic Lodge
6/1 – San Francisco, CA – Swedish American Hall
6/2 – Seattle, WA – Crocodile
6/4 – Minneapolis, MN – Turf Club
6/6 – Boston, MA – Sinclair
6/7 – Brooklyn, NY – National Sawdust
6/8 – Wichita, KS – Wichita Riverfest
6/9 – Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle

Like us on Facebook to keep up to date with news from Uncut.

The May 2018 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with Johnny Marr on the cover. Elsewhere in the issue, you’ll find exclusive new interviews with John Fogerty, Dan Auerbach, Shirley Collins, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, John Prine and many more. Our free 15-track CD features 15 tracks of this month’s best new music, featuring Kacy & Clayton, Laura Veirs, Wye Oak, Cath & Phil Taylor, Mouse On Mars, Josh T. Pearson, A Place To Bury Strangers and Drinks.


Latest Issue