Hear a track from Josh T. Pearson’s new album, The Straight Hits!

The follow-up to 2011's Last Of The Country Gentlemen is out on April 13

Trending Now

Former Lift To Experience frontman Josh T. Pearson has announced his second solo album. The Straight Hits! will be released by Mute on April 13.

Hear the first track “Straight To The Top!” below:

Pearson‘s self-imposed rules for the album dictated that each song had to have a verse, chorus and bridge, with the lyrics running to less than 16 lines. Every song also has the word “straight” in the title.


The full tracklisting is as follows:

Straight To The Top!
Straight At Me
Give It To Me Straight
Straight Laced Come Undone
Damn Straight
Loved Straight To Hell
The Dire Straits Of Love
Whiskey Straight Love
A Love Song (Set Me Straight)
Straight Down Again¡

Pearson has also announced a full European tour, with tickets going on sale on Friday (January 19):


15 May – UK, Leeds Brudenell Social Club
16 May – UK, Birmingham The Glee Club
18 May – IE, Dublin Whelans
19 May – UK, Glasgow Art School
20 May – UK, Manchester Gorilla
22 May – UK, London Shepherd’s Bush Empire
24 May – FR, Paris La Maroquinerie
26 May – BE, Belgium Rotonde Botanique
27 May – NL, Amsterdam Bitterzoet
28 May – DE, Cologne Gebäude 9
29 May – DE, Hamburg Knust
30 May – DE, Berlin Quasimodo
4 June – SE, Stockholm Kagelbanen
5 June – DK, Copenhagen DR Koncerthuset Studio 3
6 June – NO, Oslo Parkteatret

The March 2018 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with My Bloody Valentine and Rock’s 50 Most Extreme Albums on the cover. Elsewhere in the issue, there are new interviews with Joan Baez, Stick In The Wheel, Gary Numan, Jethro Tull and many more and we also look back on the rise of progressive country in 70s’ Austin, Texas. Our free 15 track-CD features 15 classic tracks from the edge of sound, including My Bloody Valentine, Cabaret Voltaire, Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band, Flying Saucer Attack and Mogwai.


Latest Issue