Hear track from My Morning Jacket’s new album

The band also confirm tracklisting for The Waterfall

Trending Now

Ways to keep reading Uncut during lockdown

Even if you can't leave the house, there's no need to miss an issue

Cosmic Cratedigging – introducing our FREE Light In The Attic CD!

Featuring Betty Davis, Roky Erickson, Tim Buckley, Lee Hazlewood and more

Kraftwerk – The Ultimate Music Guide

Celebrating 50 years of Kraftwerk and the life of their late co-founder Florian Schneider, this 124 page premium publication...

Watch Michael Chapman’s lockdown session for Uncut

From his home at the top of the Pennines

My Morning Jacket have released a track from their new album.

You can hear “Big Decisions” below.


The song is from The Waterfall, their first studio album since 2011’s Circuital.

The Waterfall is released on May 4 on ATO/Capitol Records and has been produced by Tucker Martine. It is the first of two albums intended for release before the end of 2016.

Jim James
Jim James

Speaking to Uncut for our 2015 Album Preview, Jim James said, “It’s the longest it’s ever taken us to make a record. We were out in Stinson Beach [California] for about a month recording and then in Louisville and then in Portland. We’ve been mixing in Portland for about a month. We recorded 24 songs, ten are going to be on this record. We divided them up into what we feel are two really cool records.

“Because this album took a year to make, I see a lot of the seasons in this record. There is a song called ‘Spring’, which doesn’t take a lot to work out. I see waterfalls and I see leaves blowing and I see plants dying. I see those kinds of images throughout this record.”

The band are scheduled to play at the End Of The Road festival on September 5 and London’s Shepherd’s Bush Empire on September 7.


The tracklisting for The Waterfall is:

1. ‘Believe (Nobody Knows)’
2. ‘Compound Fracture’
3. ‘Like A River’
4. ‘In Its Infancy (The Waterfall)’
5. ‘Get The Point’
6. ‘Spring (Among The Living)’
7. ‘Thin Line’
8. ‘Big Decisions’
9. ‘Tropics (Erase Traces)’
10. ‘Only Memories Remain’


Latest Issue

Bob Marley, Marc Bolan, John Prine, Courtney Marie Andrews, Joy Division, Joan As Police Woman, Irmin Schmidt, Paul Weller and Captain Beefheart