Hear Ryley Walker’s new single, “Telluride Speed”

It's taken from the upcoming album Deafman Glance, out May 18

Trending Now

The 7th Uncut New Music Playlist Of 2020

Sufjan Stevens, Bill Callahan, Sarah Davachi, David Gilmour… and Sun Ra Arkestra!

Send us your questions for Dan Penn

The soul songwriter will field your enquiries in a future issue of Uncut

Robert Fripp on Eno, Bowie and King Crimson

"Whenever you walk on stage – maximum hazard!"

Introducing the Deluxe Ultimate Music Guide to Paul Weller

Even with a new album out this week, and with the pandemic striking at the heart of how musicians...

Ryley Walker has announced that his new album Deafman Glance will be released by Dead Oceans on May 18.

Hear the lead single “Telluride Speed” below:


As with its 2016 predecessor Golden Sings That Have Been Sung, Deafman Glance has again been co-produced by LeRoy Bach and Walker himself. Other musicians on the album include Cooper Crain of Bitchin’ Bajas, Brian J Sulpizio, Bill Mackay, Andrew Scott Young, Matt Lux, Mikel Avery, Quin Kirchne and Nate Lepine.

“I wanted to make something deep-fried and more me-sounding,” says Walker. “I didn’t want to be jammy acoustic guy anymore. I just wanted to make something weird and far-out that came from the heart finally. It’s got some weird instrumentation on there, and some surreal far-out words. And it’s more Chicago-y sounding. Chicago sounds like a train constantly coming towards you but never arriving. That’s the sound I hear, all the time, ringing in my ears.”

Ryley Walker will play The Scala in London on November 27. Tickets are available here from 9am on Friday (March 2).

Following a residency at Chicago’s Cafe Mustache in March, Walker’s US tour begins on April 10. Full dates here.

Like us on Facebook to keep up to date with news from Uncut.

The April 2018 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with Joni Mitchell on the cover. Elsewhere in the issue, we pay tribute to Mark E Smith and there are new interviews with The Breeders, Josh T Pearson, Brett Anderson, The Decemberists, Chris Robinson and many more. We also look at the legacy of Rick Hall’s FAME Studios. Our free 15-track CD features 15 tracks of this month’s best new music, featuring Graham Coxon, Gwenno, Guided By Voices, Jonathan Wilson, David Byrne, Tracey Thorn, The Low Anthem and Mélissa Laveaux.


Latest Issue

The Beatles, Bob Dylan, Robert Fripp, Khruangbin, Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever, Laura Marling, Siouxsie & The Banshees, Little Richard and more