Hear Ray Davies’ new song, “Our Country”

It's from the album Our Country: Americana Act II, out June 29

Trending Now

Ray Davies will release a new album on June 29, entitled Our Country: Americana Act II.

A sequel to last year’s Americana, it features many of the same musicians, including The Jayhawks as Davies’ main backing band. The tracklist is a combination of new songs and reinterpretations of Americana-themed numbers from Davies’ back catalogue.

Our Country follows my journey across America,” explains Davies, “through endless tours not just to reclaim The Kinks’ career, but to rediscover the country that offered me my earliest inspirations.”


Listen to opener “Our Country” below:

The full tracklisting for Our Country: Americana Act II is as follows:

1. Our Country
2. The Invaders (spoken word)
3. Back In The Day
4. Oklahoma U.S.A.
5. Bringing Up Baby
6. The Getaway
7. The Take
8. We Will Get There
9. The Real World
10. A Street Called Hope
11. The Empty Room
12. Calling Home
13. Louisiana Sky
14. March Of The Zombies
15. The Big Weird
16. Tony And Bob
17. The Big Guy
18. Epilogue
19. Muswell Kills


Watch a video about the making of the album below:

Davies is currently working on a theatre/film piece based on Americana and Our Country.

The June 2018 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with the Rolling Stones on the cover. Elsewhere in the issue, you’ll find exclusive new interviews with Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry, Françoise Hardy, Eric Burdon, James Taylor, Public Enemy, Eleanor Friedberger and many more. Our free CD showcases 15 tracks of this month’s best new music, including Courtney Barnett, Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks, Ryley Walker, Beach House, Wand, Simone Felice, Dylan Carson and The Sea And Cake.


Latest Issue