Hear David Crosby’s new protest song, “Capitol”

It is an attack on corruption within the American Congress

Trending Now

Introducing the new Uncut: Kate Bush, Peter Green, Sounds Of The New West Vol 5 and more

Among several profitable distractions during the festive break, I enjoyed following a Twitter thread about old Uncut CDs. Among...

Send us your questions for Baxter Dury

The Prince Of Tears will field your enquiries in a future issue of Uncut

The First Uncut New Music Playlist Of 2020

Gil Scott-Heron x Makaya McCraven, The Flaming Lips x Deap Vally, St Vincent x Beck and much more…

David Crosby has posted a new song, “Capitol“.

Crosby confirmed on Twitter he was working on “a new song about our shameful US. Congress” on January 10.


The song was mixed on January 11 and uploaded onto Soundcloud earlier today (January 13).

As promised, the song addresses corruption within the American Congress:

“They’ll ignore the Constitution and hide behind the scenes
Anything to stay a part of the machine
And you think to yourself, this is where it happens
They run the whole damn thing from here”


The musicians on the song are:

David Crosby – vocals
Andrew Ford – bass
Steve Tavaglione – soprano saxophone/EWI
Greg Leisz – pedal steel guitar
James Raymond – piano/synths/drum programming
Steve Postell – acoustic guitar
Dean Parks – electric guitar
Steve DiStanislao – drums


Produced by James Raymond
Recorded by Dan Garcia and James Raymond
Mixed by Dan Garcia

The February 2017 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring our cover story on Leonard Cohen. Elsewhere in the issue, we look at the 50 Great Modern Protest Songs and our free CD collects 15 of the very best, featuring Ry Cooder, Jarvis Cocker, Roy Harper, Father John Misty, Hurray For The Riff Raff and Richard Thompson. The issue also features our essential preview of the key albums for 2017, including Roger Waters, Fleet Foxes, Paul Weller, The Jesus And Mary Chain, the Waterboys and more. Plus Leon Russell, Mike Oldfield, Ty Segall, Tift Merritt, David Bowie, Japandroids, The Doors, Flaming Lips, Wilco, The XX, Grateful Dead, Mark Eitzel and more plus 139 reviews


Latest Issue