Hear an alternate take of The White Stripes’ “Fell In Love With A Girl”

It's one of 13 previously unreleased tracks on White Blood Cells XX

Trending Now

Richard Thompson on the flowering of Fairport Convention

"There was a musical explosion – you could play almost anything and be accepted"

My Bloody Valentine: “We were like the Partridge Family on acid”

With the news that My Bloody Valentine have released their catalogue across streaming services for the first time, it...

Alan Horne on the resurrection of Postcard Records

"There’s no conceivable excuse to be whoring yourself off to any crooked corporate malarkey"

Introducing the Deluxe Ultimate Music Guide to Neil Young

Updated with a deep dive into Archives II and more

The next package to land on the doorsteps of subscribers to the Third Man Records Vault is a pretty special one: a 20th anniversary companion album to The White Stripes’ 2001 breakthrough album White Blood Cells.

The double LP package – one white, one red, natch – features 13 previously unreleased tracks or alternate takes from the White Blood Cells sessions and a previously unreleased live recording from Headliners in Louisville, Kentucky on September 6, 2001. Hear an alternate version of “Fell In Love With A Girl” below:


White Blood Cells XX also includes an hour-long DVD documenting the recording of the album at Easley-McCain Recording in Memphis. Watch a teaser for that below:

White Blood Cells XX is currently a Third Man Vault exclusive – you need to sign up here by April 30 to receive the package. Check out the full tracklisting below:

Side A:
1. Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground (previously unreleased boombox demo take 1)
2. Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground (previously unreleased boombox demo take 2)
3. Hotel Yorba (previously unreleased alternate take live at the Hotel Yorba)
4. Fell In Love With a Girl (previously unreleased alternate take)
5. The Union Forever (previously unreleased working mix without interlude)
6. Offend In Every Way (previously unreleased acoustic boombox demo)
7. That’s Where It’s At (previously unreleased outtake)

Side B:
8. Ooh-Aah (previously unreleased demo)
9. I Can’t Wait (previously unreleased alternate mix)
10. Hey Mary (previously unreleased demo)
11. Feel Like I’m Three Feet Tall (previously unreleased boombox demo)
12. Rated X (previously unreleased alternate take live at the Hotel Yorba)
13. This Protector (previously unreleased alternate take)

Side C:
1. When I Hear My Name
2. Death Letter / Grinnin’ In Your Face
3. Lord, Send Me An Angel
4. You’re Pretty Good Looking (For A Girl)
5. Dead Leaves And The Dirty Ground
6. Hotel Yorba
7. Truth Doesn’t Make A Noise
8. I Think I Smell A Rat


Side D:
1. Jolene
2. We’re Going To Be Friends
3. Expecting
4. The Union Forever
5. The Same Boy You’ve Always Known
6. Apple Blossom
7. Cannon / John The Revelator
8. Astro
9. Boll Weevil


Latest Issue

The Velvet Underground, The Black Crowes, Bunny Wailer, Richard Thompson, Nick Cave, Rhiannon Giddens, Laurie Anderson, Blake Mills, Postcard Records, Mogwai and The Selecter