Eels Go Hits And Rarities Crazy!

Two impressive comps are coming our way in January

Trending Now

Mark ‘E’ Everett’s ever-changing Eels project are celebrated on two hefty compilations, scheduled for release on January 21, 2008.

“Meet The EELS: Essential EELS Vol. 1, 1996-2006” features 24 of their most famous tracks – though it also includes a previously unreleased take on Missy Elliott‘s “Get Ur Freak On”. The package also includes a DVD with 12 of the band’s promo videos.

Meanwhile, “EELS Useless Trinkets: B-Sides, Soundtracks, Rarities and Unreleased 1996-2006” has 50 tracks sprawling across two CDs, and promises to be something of the motherlode for hardcore Eels fans.


Cover versions on this one include Screamin’ Jay Hawkins’ “I Put A Spell On You”, James Carr’s “Dark End of The Street” and Prince’s “If I Was Your Girlfriend.” It comes with a six-track DVD filmed at their Lollapalooza Festival show in 2006.

Here are the tracklistings for both packages:

MEET THE EELS: Essential EELS Vol. I, 1996-2006 (CD+DVD):


01 novocaine for the soul

02 susan’s house

03 my beloved monster

04 your lucky day in hell

05 3 speed

06 last stop: this town

07 climbing to the moon (jon brion remix)*

08 flyswatter

09 i like birds

10 mr. E’s beautiful blues

11 it’s a motherfucker

12 souljacker part 1

13 that’s not really funny

14 fresh feeling

15 get ur freak on*

16 saturday morning

17 love of the loveless

18 dirty girl (live at town hall)

19 i need some sleep

20 hey man (now you’re really living)

21 i’m going to stop pretending that i didn’t break your heart

22 trouble with dreams

23 railroad man

24 losing streak


01 novocaine for the soul

02 susan’s house

03 rags to rags

04 your lucky day in hell

05 last stop: this town

06 cancer for the cure

07 flyswatter

08 souljacker part I

09 saturday morning

10 hey man (now you’re really living)

11 trouble with dreams

12 dirty girl (live at town hall)

EELS USELESS TRINKETS: B-Sides, Soundtracks, Rarities and

Unreleased 1996-2006 (2CD+DVD)


01 novocaine for the soul (live from hell)

02 fucker

03 my beloved monster (live from tennessee)

04 dog’s life

05 susan’s apartment

06 manchester girl (BBC)

07 flower (BBC)

08 my beloved mad monster party (BBC)

09 animal

10 stepmother

11 everything’s gonna be cool this christmas

12 your lucky day in hell (michael simpson remix)*

13 altar boy

14 novocaine for the soul (moog cookbook remix)

15 if i was your girlfriend (live)*

16 bad news

17 funeral parlor

18 hospital food (BBC)

19 open the door (BBC)

20 birdgirl on a cell phone

21 vice president fruitley

22 my beloved monstrosity

23 dark end of the street (live)*

24 the cheater’s guide to your heart (live)*

25 useless trinkets*


01 mr. E’s beautiful remix

02 souljacker part I (alternate version)*

03 dog faced boy (alternate version)*

04 jennifer eccles

05 rotten world blues

06 can’t help falling in love

07 christmas is going to the dogs

08 mighty fine blues

09 eyes down

10 skywriting

11 taking a bath in rust

12 estranged friends*

13 her

14 waltz of the naked clowns

15 i like birds (live)*

16 sad foot sign

17 living life

18 the bright side

19 after the operation

20 jelly dancers

21 i could never take the place of your man (live at Town Hall)

22 mr. E’s beautiful blues (live at Town Hall)

23 i want to protect you*

24 i put a spell on you (live)*

25 saw a ufo*


01 saturday morning

02 eyes down

03 my beloved monster

04 a magic world

05 not ready yet

06 souljacker part I

*previously unreleased


Latest Issue