Bob Weir announces new solo album, Blue Mountain

It's his first album of entirely new material for 30 years

Trending Now

Bob Weir has announced details of a new solo album, Blue Mountain – his first album of entirely new material for 30 years.

The album is released on September 30 through Columbia/Legacy Recordings.

Blue Mountain is now available for pre-order on CD by clicking here and digitally by clicking here.


Recorded in 2015 at and co-produced by Josh Kaufman, Blue Mountain features The National’s Aaron Dessner, Bryce Dessner and Scott Devendorf. Singer-songwriter Josh Ritter collaborated with Weir on select tracks.

Other musicians who’ve played on the album include Ray Rizzo (drums, harmonium, harmonica, backup vocals), Joe Russo (drums), Jon Shaw (upright bass, piano), Rob Burger (keyboard, accordion, tuned percussion), Sam Cohen (electric guitar and pedal steel), Nate Martinez (guitars, harmonium, backup vocals), Jay Lane (drums, vocals), Robin Sylvester (upright bass, vocals, hammond organ) and Steve Kimock (lapsteel). The Bandana Splits – comprising Annie Nero, Lauren Balthrop and Dawn Landes – sing backup on the album.

The tracklisting for Blue Mountain is:


Only A River
Cottonwood Lullaby
Lay My Lily Down
Gallop On The Run
Whatever Happened To Rose
What The Ghost Towns Know
Darkest Hour
Ki-Yi Bossie
Storm Country
Blue Mountain
One More River To Cross

Weir will also support the album with some shows on his Campfire Tour. Pre-sale tickets will be available on August 9 at 10:00am local time and public on-sale on August 12 at 10:00am local time from his website. Every online ticket order comes with one physical CD of Blue Mountain.

October 7 — Marin County Civic Center—San Rafael, CA
October 8 — Fox Theater¬—Oakland, CA
October 10 — The Wiltern—Los Angeles, CA
October 12 — Tower Theatre—Upper Darby, PA
October 14 & 15 — Kings Theatre—Brooklyn, NY
October 16 — The Capitol Theatre—Port Chester, NY
October 19 — Ryman Auditorium—Nashville, TN

The September 2016 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – featuring our cover story on Tom Waits, plus Tom Petty, Teenage Fanclub, Pink Floyd, Aaron Neville, Bat For Lashes, De La Soul, Chet Baker, Cass McCombs, Quicksilver Messenger Service, Ryley Walker, Kendrick Lamar, Lord Buckley, Sex Pistols, Brexit and more plus 40 pages of reviews and our free 15-track CD

Uncut: the spiritual home of great rock music.


Latest Issue