Bob Dylan announces new studio album, Shadows In The Night

Ten tracks due in February 2015...

Trending Now

Ten tracks due in February 2015…

Bob Dylan will release his new studio album, Shadows In The Night, on February 2, 2015. Featuring ten tracks of Frank Sinatra covers, the album is the 36th studio set from Bob Dylan and marks the first new music from the artist since 2012’s Tempest.


Dylan commented, “It was a real privilege to make this album. I’ve wanted to do something like this for a long time but was never brave enough to approach 30-piece complicated arrangements and refine them down for a 5-piece band. That’s the key to all these performances. We knew these songs extremely well. It was all done live. Maybe one or two takes. No overdubbing. No vocal booths. No headphones. No separate tracking, and, for the most part, mixed as it was recorded. I don’t see myself as covering these songs in any way. They’ve been covered enough. Buried, as a matter a fact. What me and my band are basically doing is uncovering them. Lifting them out of the grave and bringing them into the light of day.”

As Columba Records Chairman Rob Stringer explains, “There are no strings, obvious horns, background vocals or other such devices often found on albums that feature standard ballads. Instead, Bob has managed to find a way to infuse these songs with new life and contemporary relevance. It is a brilliant record and we are extremely excited to be presenting it to the world very soon.”

When Dylan released his version of “Full Moon And Empty Arms” in May this year, Uncut speculated we might be in for an album of Sinatra covers.


The tracklisting for Shadows In The Night is:

1. I’m A Fool To Want You

2. The Night We Called It A Day

3. Stay With Me

4. Autumn Leaves

5. Why Try to Change Me Now

6. Some Enchanted Evening

7. Full Moon And Empty Arms

8. Where Are You?

9. What’ll I Do

10. That Lucky Old Sun


Latest Issue