Blur announce first new album in 12 years

The Magic Whip is released on April 27

Trending Now

Fugazi’s Ian MacKaye: “We decided we were going to start a new scene”

The new issue of Uncut revisits the birth of post-hardcore in Washington DC

Mogwai: Album By Album

Founded in 1995 and initially a trio, Glasgow’s Mogwai made their debut with “Tuner/Lower”, a self-pressed seven-inch in thrall...

Pete Townshend looks back at The Who in 1967: “I don’t think I was angry”

Smashing guitars, hanging out with Small Faces and keeping Keith Moon onside

Introducing the Deluxe Ultimate Music Guide to Bob Marley

In-depths reviews and archive encounters with the reggae legend

Blur have announced details of their first new album since 2003’s Think Tank.

The Magic Whip will be released on April 27.

The announcement was made via a live streamed press conference from a Chinese restaurant in London.


Blur, Magic Whip sleeve
Blur, Magic Whip sleeve

Initially conceived in Hong Kong during downtime following a cancelled show in Japan, the band spent five or six days laying down ideas, then enlisted regular producer Stephen Street to develop them.

The band will also headline this year’s British Summer Time in London’s Hyde Park on 20 June, the fourth time they have played the venue.

The tracklisting for The Magic Whip is:

‘Lonesome Street’
‘New World Towers’
‘Go Out’
‘Ice Cream Man’
‘Thought I Was A Spaceman’
‘I Broadcast’
‘My Terracotta Heart’
‘There Are Too Many Of Us’
‘Ghost Ship’
‘Ong Ong’

Latest Issue

The Who, New York Dolls, Fugazi, Peggy Seeger, Scritti Politti, Bob Dylan, Marvin Gaye, Serge Gainsbourg, Israel Nash and Valerie June