Beach Boy Dennis Wilson’s Pacific Ocean Blue Reissued

30th anniversary special edition features unreleased songs

Trending Now

Former Beach Boy Dennis Wilson‘s album Pacific Ocean Blue is being reissued next month, marking the album’s 30th anniversary and also 25 years since Wilson’s untimely death.

The double CD package features 12 bonus tracks from the recording sessions from the unfinished follow-up album Bambu, which were mixed with engineer John Hanlon.

In a surprising move Foo FightersTaylor Hawkins takes Wilson’s role for a version of the previously unfinished “Holy Man”. The new lyrics were written by co-producer and long time Dennis collaborator, Gregg Jacobson.

The CD set will also include a booklet with previously ‘lost’ photos that have been uncovered in the Sony Music archives.

Liner notes come from a variety of Beach Boy scholars including award-winning television producer, director and writer David Leaf.

Although hugely popular at the time of release in the late seventies, Pacific Ocean Blue has been out of print since the early eighties and survived up until now only as a collector’s item.

Dennis Wilson once said, “Everything that I am or will ever be is in the music. If you want to know me just listen.” Now comes the chance to reacquaint with the eternal Beach Boy.

The Full Track listing:

Disc One: Pacific Ocean Blue

River Song
What’s Wrong
Friday Night
Thoughts Of You
You And I
Pacific Ocean Blues
Farewell My Friend
End Of The Show
Bonus Tracks
Tug Of Love (Feel the Pull)
Only With You
Holy Man (instrumental)

Disc 2: Bambu (The Caribou Sessions)

Under The Moonlight
It’s Not Too Late
School Girl
Love Remember Me
Love Surround Me
Wild Situation
Are You Real
He’s A Bum
I Love You
Constant Companion
Time For Bed
Album Tag Song
All Alone
Piano Variations On Thoughts Of You
Holy Man (Taylor Hawkins Version)


Latest Issue