Rare Nina Simone Footage Released Today

Five-part series of interviews and live performances

Trending Now

A compilation of previously unseen live performances and interviews with Nina Simone is due for online release today (April 8).

“Protest Anthology”, so-called because of the political nature of much of her work, features live renditions of some of Simone’s best-loved songs, including “Strange Fruit”, “To Be Young, Gifted and Black” and “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free “.

Digital distribution company, The Orchard, will release the five-part series on iTunes.

The full listing of “Protest Anthology”:

01 By Any Means Necessary (Interview)
02 Revolution
03 Mississippi Goddam (Interview)
04 Mississippi Goddam
05 Old Jim Crow (Interview)
06 Old Jim Crow
07 Backlash Blues (Interview)
08 Backlash Blues
09 Four Women (Interview)
10 Four Women
11 Nobody (Interview)
12 Nobody
13 I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free
14 Strange Fruit (Interview)
15 Strange Fruit
16 Definition of an Artist
17 Why? The King of Love Is Dead
18 To Be Young, Gifted and Black (Interview)
19 To Be Young, Gifted and Black


Latest Issue