Lightspeed Champion covers The Beach Boys with Van Dyke Parks on new EP

Dev Hynes lines up four-track release for December

Trending Now

Lightspeed Champion has covered The Beach Boys with the aid of their former producer Van Dyke Parks on his new EP.

The ‘Bye Bye’ EP will feature four tracks of unreleased material and will be available on 10-inch and digital download on December 13. The tracklisting includes a cover of The Beach Boys‘ 1971 track ‘Til I Die’. It was produced by Parks, who worked on some of The Beach Boys‘ most famous ’60s material, including the aborted 1967 LP ‘Smile’.

“It was pretty surreal… he’s (Van Dyke Parks) someone I’ve listened to for what seems like forever,” Lighspeed, real name Dev Hynes, explained.

He added: “I found myself listening to the stems and works in progress as a fan of him, then I’d remember that it’s something we’re working on together… then I’d freak out… Then I’d have a drink and I’d feel fine.”

The full tracklisting for ‘Bye Bye’ is as follows:

”Til I Die’
‘Underwater There Is Nothing’
‘Bye Bye Icarus’
‘The Mess You’re In’

Latest music and film news on

Bookmark and Share


Latest Issue