Jack White, Bob Dylan record ‘lost’ Hank Williams songs

Norah Jones, Sheryl Crow and Merle Haggard also contribute to the new album

Trending Now

Jack White and Bob Dylan are among the stars to contribute to a brand new collection of recordings of songs by country music legend Hank Williams.

’The Lost Notebooks of Hank Williams’, which will be released on October 3, brings together a host of never-before-heard songs from the songwriter, who died in 1953 at the age of 29. The 12 songs on the album are based upon notes made by Williams which were found after his death in a leather briefcase which belonged to him.

Those unfinished lyrics and ideas have now been turned into full songs by 13 contemporary artists, including Norah Jones, Sheryl Crow and Bob Dylan‘s son Jakob.


The album was original conceived as a Dylan solo project, reports Rolling Stone, but Dylan Senior only sings one song on the collection, ‘The Love That Faded’.

‘The Lost Notebooks of Hank Williams’ tracklisting is:

Alan Jackson – ‘You’ve Been Lonesome, Too’


Bob Dylan – ‘The Love That Faded’

Norah Jones – ‘How Many Times Have You Broken My Heart?’

Jack White – ‘You Know That I Know’

Lucinda Williams – ‘I’m So Happy I Found You’

Vince Gill and Rodney Crowell – ‘I Hope You Shed A Million Tears’

Patty Loveless – ‘You’re Through Fooling Me’

Levon Helm – ‘You’ll Never Again Be Mine’

Holly Williams – ‘Blue Is My Heart’

Jakob Dylan – ‘Oh, Mama, Come Home’

Sheryl Crow – ‘Angel Mine’

Merle Haggard – ‘The Sermon On The Mount’

Latest music and film news on Uncut.co.uk.

Uncut have teamed up with Sonic Editions to curate a number of limited-edition framed iconic rock photographs, featuring the likes of Pink Floyd, Bob Dylan and The Clash. View the full collection here.


Latest Issue