The Rolling Stones curate new comp, Confessin’ The Blues

Two-disc set features Howlin’ Wolf, Muddy Waters, Chuck Berry, Robert Johnson and more

Trending Now

The Rolling Stones have curated a new two-disc compilation, Confessin’ The Blues, due for release via BMG on November 9.

The album has been designed to “provide a perfect education to the genre” and features tracks by Howlin’ Wolf, John Lee Hooker, Elmore James, Muddy Waters, Chuck Berry, Big Bill Broonzy and Robert Johnson, among others.

Order the latest issue of Uncut online and have it sent to your home – with no delivery charge!


10% of BMG’s net receipts from the sale of Confessin’ The Blues will be donated to Willie Dixon’s Blues Heaven Foundation, an organisation that promotes, protects and preserves the blues for future generations.

Confessin’ The Blues will be available in 2xCD and 2xLP formats, as well as a 5×10” vinyl bookpack (mimicking the original 78rpm releases). All versions include liner notes by music journalist Colin Larkin and the bookpack contains removeable art card prints by noted blues illustrator Christoph Mueller.

Check out the tracklisting and the artwork – courtesy of Stones guitarist Ronnie Wood – below.


1. Muddy Waters – Rollin’ Stone
2 Howlin’ Wolf – Little Red Rooster
3. John Lee Hooker – Boogie Chillen
4. Little Walter – Hate To See You Go
5. Chuck Berry – Little Queenie
6. Bo Diddley – You Can’t Judge A Book By It’s Cover
7. Eddie Taylor – Ride ‘Em On Down
8. Slim Harpo – I’m A King Bee
9. Magic Sam – All Your Love
10. Elmore James – Dust My Broom
11. Little Walter – Just Your Fool
12. Muddy Waters – I Want To Be Loved
13. Big Bill Broonzy – Key To The Highway
14. Robert Johnson – Love In Vain Blues
15. Mississippi Fred McDowell – You Gotta Move
16. Jimmy Reed – Bright Lights, Big City
17. Big Maceo – Worried Life Blues
18. Little Johnny Taylor – Everybody Knows About My Good Thing (Part 1)
19. Howlin’ Wolf – Commit A Crime
20. Otis Rush – I Can’t Quit You Baby
21. Jay McShann & Walter Brown – Confessin’ The Blues

1. Howlin’ Wolf – Just Like I Treat You
2. Little Walter – I Got To Go
3. Chuck Berry – Carol
4. Bo Diddley – Mona
5. Muddy Waters – I Just Want To Make Love To You
6. Elmore James – Blues Before Sunrise
7. Eddie Taylor – Bad Boy
8. Boy Blue – Boogie Children
9. Jimmy Reed – Little Rain
10. Robert Johnson – Stop Breakin’ Down Blues
11. Reverend Robert Wilkins – The Prodigal Son
12. Lightnin’ Slim – Hoodoo Blues
13. Billy Boy Arnold – Don’t Stay Out All Night
14. Bo Diddley – Craw Dad
15. Dale Hawkins – Suzie Q
16. Amos Milburn – Down The Road Apiece
17. Howlin’ Wolf – Little Baby
18. Little Walter – Blue And Lonesome
19. B.B. King – Rock Me Baby
20. Buddy Guy – Damn Right I’ve Got The Blues
21. Muddy Waters – Mannish Boy

Pre-order Confessin’ The Blues here.

The September 2018 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with Rod Stewart on the cover. Elsewhere in the issue, you’ll find exclusive features on Pixies, The Byrds, Jess Williamson, Liverpool’s post-punk scene, Sly Stone, Gruff Rhys, White Denim, Beth Orton, Mary Lattimore and many more. Our free CD showcases 15 tracks of this month’s best new music, including Oh Sees, Cowboy Junkies, Elephant Micah, Papa M and Odetta Hartman.


Latest Issue