Mavis Staples announces new album, Live In London

Watch her perform "No Time For Cryin'" at the Union Chapel

Trending Now

Mavis Staples has announced the release of Live In London on February 8 via Anti-.

The album was recorded over two nights at London’s Union Chapel – which she calls “the best place in the world to sing” – and was produced by Staples herself. Hear “No Time For Cryin'” below:


Order the latest issue of Uncut online and have it sent to your home!

Pre-order Live In London here and check out the tracklisting below:

1. Love and Trust (Written by Ben Harper)

2. Who Told You That (Written by Jeff Tweedy)

3. Slippery People (Written by Talking Heads)

4. What You Gonna Do – Intro

5. What You Gonna Do (Written by Pops Staples)

6. Take Us Back (Written by Benjamin Booker)

7. You Are Not Alone (Written by Jeff Tweedy)

8. No Time For Cryin’ (Written by Jeff Tweedy and Mavis Staples)

9. Can You Get to That (Written by George Clinton and Ernie Harris)

10. Let’s Do It Again (Written by Curtis Mayfield)

11. Dedicated (Written by Justin Vernon and Matthew Ward)

12. We’re Gonna Make It (Written by Gene Barge, Billy Davis, Raynard Miner and Carl William Smith)

13. Encore: Happy Birthday

14. Touch A Hand (Written by Homer Banks, Carl Hampton and Raymond Jackson)

The December 2018 issue of Uncut is now on sale in the UK – with Bob Dylan on the cover. The issue also comes with a unique 12-track Bob Dylan CD, The Best Of The Bootleg Series, featuring an exclusive track from Dylan’s latest boxset. Elsewhere in the issue you’ll find exclusive features on the Small Faces, Jeff Tweedy, the Psychedelic Furs, Moses Sumney, Sister Sledge, Jeff Goldblum, Marianne Fathfull, Ty Segall, Roger Daltrey, Klaus Voormann and many more.


Latest Issue

Bruce Springsteen, Uncut’s Review Of 2021, Jason Isbell, Yasmin Williams, Jonny Greenwood, The Weather Station, Robert Plant & Alison Krauss, the Beach Boys, The Coral, and Marvin Gaye


Yasmin Williams: “I wanted to imagine things getting better”

Released in January, Yasmin Williams’ mesmerising album Urban Driftwood respected the old traditions of folk music but simultaneously made fresh currency out of them. Stephen Deusner meets Williams in Nashville to map the course of her incredible year since – and her plans for 2022. “I’m pretty optimistic about the future,” she says. “At least, way more than I was a year ago…”